Tags

, , , ,


Living in an extended stay hotel suite is a bit challenging but thankfully it’s working out just fine. Dare I say, I think I’m becoming a bit spoiled? One thing I do miss is a full sized kitchen but that doesn’t mean our meals have to suffer. After researching a bit, I learned there are a lot of other corporate people out there staying in hotels too; hence, I figured I would share our meals with you to encourage those of you to eat healthy even when away from your home kitchen.

Our first night I do have to admit that we stopped for the most mouth-watering Thai food in the nation. We arrived late after an eleven hour drive with two furry babies though so hopefully you all won’t hold it against me. I’ll give you a restaurant review soon though so you won’t hold it against me long.

Finally, our first dinner menu was spaghetti since we were both tired traveling around our new city and didn’t really have the energy to cook a full cutting, chopping, frying, or boiling meal. Spaghetti is always the perfect meal to prepare when you are in this same mood. We found a new grocery store that sells local produce when available and has its own locally produced prepackaged items. We purchased a jar of premade basil spaghetti sauce and dry pasta. For some reason I don’t like spaghetti noodles so I tend to use rotini or another shape. So, here’s the recipe for this simple hotel dinner that can be easily done in the microwave or on the stovetop.

1-2 vegan sausage link (I used 1 Tofurky), diced or sliced
½ c onion, diced
5 garlic cloves, sliced or minced
1 jar spaghetti sauce (I used basil flavored)
½ pd dry pasta or fresh from deli if available
½ tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
Daiya Cheese, optional as topping after prepared

Stove:
1. Boil pasta according to package directions. Cook until al dente, drain and then set aside.
2. Spray a frying pan and sauté the sausage, onion and garlic until golden brown. Just before the ingredients turn brown, sprinkle in the red pepper flakes to add a little spice.
3. Add the spaghetti sauce to the mixture and stir. Top with a lid and simmer for about five minutes, or until warm.
4. Add the pasta and stir together. Enjoy!

Microwave:
1. Put a large bowl in the microwave ¾ full of water. Bring the water to a boil.
2. Add the pasta to the boiling water and put back into the microwave for about ten minutes. Do not open the microwave door because once the steam of the water is gone, the pasta/water will have to be warmed up again.
3. Once the pasta is steamed to al dente, drain.
4. Place all the rest of the ingredient in the bowl on top of the pasta (do not mix) and cook on high for about 3-5 minutes, depending on the strength of your microwave. Once everything is warm enough to eat, serve into individual bowls and enjoy.

