Tags

, , , ,


Hello Heaven calling? Curry is one of my ultimate favorite Japanese borrowed entrée from India. When I lived in Osaka, Japan I visited this authentic Indian curry at a small but always busy restaurant called Tiger Direct Indian- Curry House. My mouth is still watering over the thought of the homemade naan, all freshly made curry sauce and the general smell of the Indian spices filtering through the darkened restaurant giving a tiny hug of comfort to patrons. Honestly I carried the business card of the business around for about 5 years after returning from my life there. Finally I took the card out of my wallet but the memory of dining with friends for lunch. Mmmmm

Curry is just my favorite sauce to use on just about everything. In college many years ago, I introduced curry ramen to my now husband. In America, this wasn’t popular yet and he had never even had curry up until about three years previously – sadly it didn’t go down the best the first try. Thankfully he grew to love it (otherwise marriage might have not happened – I kid, I kid). In college we would take a curry cube and mix it with a prepared ramen package (minus the chemical filled sachet that comes in the package). It was very thick but so filling and worth the few bucks to make it. Additionally it could be created in the microwave – score!

This last weekend it was cooler and I was grouchy. So, I decided that curry was definitely in order. The hubby wanted something with noodles so – curry ramen came back into the household after many years. I did have some curry cubes but in honor of trying to eat all natural, I decided I was going to recreate a favorite classic of my own and use simple ingredients. Hooray!!! I made this on the stove but you can make it in the microwave for under a few bucks.

Serves 2-4 people (depends on how hungry you are) カレーラーメン

2 pkg ramen noodles (yeah, that cheap stuff is okay)
1-2 tsp vegan bouillon (omit if using broth)
2 cups water or broth
Handful of dried wakame
½ onion, thinly sliced
½ cup carrots, thinly sliced
1-3 tbsp curry powder

1. Boil the ramen noodles in the water. This can be done on the stove or in the microwave. If making in the microwave, heat some water until hot and pour over the noodles. Place a small plate on top of the bowl and steam the noodles.
2. Once the noodles are al dente, add all the other ingredients, minus the curry powder.
3. Keep the mixture on simmer if doing on the stove. If doing by microwave, heat the mixture up for 1 minute.
4. Stir in the curry powder and mix well. Simmer for another few minutes until the curry sets up. If doing by microwave, stir in curry powder and let it set for another minute.
5. Enjoy! Yum!!!!

Note: You can add any other vegetables but this is what I had in stock, obviously it was pre-farmers’ market day.

