Tags

, , , ,


Super tasty gooooooo…. His lordship and I have been watching the British series “Supersizers Go” and “Supersizers Eat” (that we can’t get in America, grrr – Yay, thank you Youtube!). The series focuses on various periods of history and its food with the two presenters that admittedly I had never heard of but apparently according to Wikipedia are popular in England. The first is a journalist and restaurant critic by the name of Giles Coren and the second is a broadcaster and comedian, Sue Perkins. The duo is quite humorous as they eat through the episodes’ selected period and remind us how lucky we are to know of healthful eating today. Hubby and I did quite like the seventies for their vegetarian lifestyle but most periods of time left out so many elements of a proper diet it was frightening.

My eye was caught by the Victorian meat pasty that is very popular today in Great Britain and also Australia. In America we generally do not have such pastries, although there are a few frozen selections that have risen in popularity over the last ten years for convenience reasons, but other than that it’s not something that many people make at home. My amazing adopted Aussie mum (see my Aussie Sis here) in Australia makes the most scrumptious looking meat filled pasties and each time I see a finished photo I’m totally jealous. So, today I decided to take up the leftover puff pastry sheet from making these (fill in here1!!!!!1111) and try making a new vegan version that is not only healthy but can be taken on a picnic. Healthy activity and healthy food – double score!

Victorian Meatless Pasties
1/2 c meatless tvp crumbles
1/4 c onion, chopped
1/4 c carrot ( 1 med), chopped
1/4 c peas, chopped
1/4 c mushrooms, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2- 1 tbsp sage
1/4 c parsley
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2-1 c mashed potatoes
dash pepper to taste

1. Make mashed potatoes, unless you have some sitting around as a leftover. Or (gasp!), if you have some from a box, go ahead I’ll turn my head and act like I don’t know what you are doing.

2. Make your meatless tvp crumbles from this recipe (enter address!!!!!!!) Or you can use a store purchased variety too.

3. Toss everything but the mashed potatoes and crumbles into a saute pan and give it a good saute. You don’t want it to become mush so just get it a little golden brown. I used a little spray on the bottom of my pan but you can use oil or water – whatever you feel like using is okay.

4. Mix everything together in a large bowl until well mixed. It should be very sticky.

5. Roll out the puff pastry and take a large circle (I used a pan lid) and cut out 4-5 circles. Then you fill one side of the circle, leaving enough room on the outside to crimp later.

6. Fold the unfilled side over the filled side. Crimp with a fork. (Yeah, that just means smooch them together so that it closes the two pieces together and your contents don’t come out during baking or transportation.) Continue until you are done with dough or filling.

7. Place in a preheated oven at 350 for about 15 minutes. They should turn golden brown.

8. Remove pasties from tray after cooling for a few minutes and place on wire rack. Or you can eat right away but be careful because the inside is going to be very hot! I warned you…

9. Wrap the pasties and take for a nice walk and then a picnic. They stay warm for a good amount of time and boy are they delicious! Enjoy your Victorian pasty- genki style.

If you want to watch the episode I referred to above:  Here is the video that I found on You Tube.

What’s your favorite pasty filling?

Let me know in the comment section

