Tags

, , ,


Today, April 25 is Anzac Day in Australia. It is similar to the American holiday of Veterans Day and/or Memorial Day. It is called ANZAC since it stands for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC), those brave people that fought at Gallipoli in the Ottoman Empire during World War I. As my little sister has taught me, woman left at home during the war would send these ANZAC cookies to their loved ones during wartime because the ingredients were readily available and the tasty treats would last for months without spoiling; now it is an honored Australian Recipe. Hence, each year to put out a little honor for those members of ANZAC and those left at home working hard, I always make it a habit to have these ready for family and friends. Someday I might even be able to make my vegan version for my family in Australia. They aren’t vegan but I’m sure they will love them all the same.

The shining star in this recipe is the shredded coconut. I have made them with sweetened coconut and non but I prefer to reduce the amount of sugar and go ahead with organic, unsweetened. You can go crazy though and have whatever you like, I won’t yell. This recipe was something that I found on the internet from a lot of sources and then just veganized it. Sweet and simple… They are sweet coconut biscuits that will have you wanting more and more. (That is if you can make enough before you eat all the batter, which is very hard to do. Oops!)

1 c plain flour (whole wheat makes this really hard)
1 c sugar, white
1 c rolled oats
1 c desiccated, unsweetened coconut
4oz vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)
2 tbsp boiling water
1 tbsp golden syrup (or use honey, agave, maple syrup or brown rice syrup)
1 tsp baking soda

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
2. In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
3. In a small saucepan over medium heat toss in the vegan butter and golden syrup (or whatever) and stir until the vegan butter has melted.
4. In a small bowl, combine the boiling water and soda. (big enough for the massive bubbles it will make though – think chemistry class experiment, minus the explosions in my case… again, oops!)
5. Add the baking soda/water mixture with the melted vegan butter mixture.
6. Toss it all in together in the large bowl and mix well. You might have to add a little water depends on the daily weather. Yep, it depends on the weather, strange I know!
7. Just as you would make chocolate chip cookies, take tablespoonfuls and place on the prepared cookie sheets. They will spread a little but not much.
8. Bake for 12 mins or until slightly golden brown.
9. Try to let them cool before you devour them. (Again, oops!)

source

