Tags

, ,


Oh where, oh where did our warm weather go… (singing) Last week the lordship and I were sitting outside on our new patio furniture. This week, we are sitting indoors holding hot cocoa just for a warm up to the body. Thankfully I have come up with a low-calorie hot cocoa drink to warm the body and trick the sweet tooth. It is so rich and creamy your loved ones won’t know it a healthy version. Hehe (At least mine didn’t until he read this…oops!)

Serves 1 Very Cold Person Vegan
1c almond milk (coconut milk or other nondairy milk that’s low in calories)
2 tsp brown sugar
1-2 tbsp cocoa powder (I like dark)
½ tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp peppermint extract (optional if you want mint hot cocoa)
Top with vegan whipped nondairy cream (optional)

Mix it all together in a mug and heat for 2 minutes in the microwave. You can also do it on the stove but when I’m in the mood for something warm, I’m not waiting.

*Note: My almond and coconut milk is 40- 50 calories per cup. Your hot cocoa might be a few more calories depending on your nondairy milk choice.

