Tags

, , , ,


Mr. Hubby has a business meeting tomorrow and me being the good wife (or rather a wannabe), I decided to make some special cupcakes to spread the news about Earth Day on 4/22/12. Veganism is very green so I highly suggest trying it out for size. (Okay, that was my last plug for this blog entry… haha) My selection, Oreo Chocolate Cupcakes that will make everyone super sweet and full of energy to stay away during the meeting. Hey, if I had to sit there for a few hours listening to people talk, I would want some special chocolate cupcakes too.

Following my parents visit last week, we had some Oreos (yep, they’re vegan) left in our cabinets. I’m trying to get rid of all the “junk food” that is sitting around so I don’t eat. More on that later… So, I decided to make a batch of Basic Chocolate Cupcakes from the “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” cookbook. We have made this a million times and it is just as good each time. I do have to mention that I like to use coconut milk instead of soymilk. The cupcakes come out moister than when using soymilk, an essential with baked goods.

I found the original recipe online to share with you at Chow.com. Its super easy and comes out perfect each time. Even if you aren’t vegan, you will fall in love with it. Nom nom nom Makes 12 cupcakes

1 cup coconut milk
1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. almond extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners.

2. Whisk together the soy milk and vinegar in a large bowl. Set aside for a few minutes to curdle. Add the sugar, oil, vanilla extract and almond extract to the soy-milk mixture. Beat till foamy. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add in 2 batches to wet ingredients. Beat until no large lumps remain (a few tiny lumps are okay).

3. Pour into liners, filling three-quarters of the way. Bake 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Transfer to cooling rack and cool completely.

My Special trick (which after later research I found other people had the same idea- darn), place an Oreo half way in between the batter when filling the liners. I found that by doing this the recipe made 14 cupcakes instead of 12. Additionally I went ahead and used some leftover vegan cream cheese frosting (from Easter Carrot Cake still) and then placed another Oreo on top.

That should be enough sugar for a longer meeting, right?  Have you ever placed something non-traditional into a cupcake?  Let me know in the comments section.

