Tags

, , , ,


Sorry about the photo, I took it with my iPhone. Do you like the pirate though?

Morning exercise day-off, hooray!!! Actually it’s really hard to skip a day of no exercise in the morning (mainly because I love morning workouts and secondly because it steers me away from snacking). At least the tiny bit of rest will calm my screaming muscles… mainly in my stomach area. Oh those pesky sit-ups… Feel free to place “get well cards” in the comment section. ^_^

So anyways the main topic, food, that’s why you’re here right? Last night I planned on making a lovely Indian inspired dish called Saag Paneer (made vegan with tofu). We had a large box of fresh spinach and I was dying for some more iron and calcium in my diet. Both of these are essential for helping to prevent migraines which I am having problems with at the moment. Grr… There was a minor problem with running out of ground cumin but the lovely man picked some up on his way home from work, thanks darling man. The dish was hot and super easy to put together, always a plus for those days you don’t want to cook. It turned out we couldn’t eat enough of it. Nom nom nom

The recipe came from The 30 Minute Vegan: Over 175 Quick, Delicious, and Healthy Recipes for Everyday Cooking by Mark Reinfeld and Jennifer Murray. It’s an older cookbook that came out in 2009 so if you don’t have it already, you can get it for a reduced price of $12.42. Hello, savings! It’s well worth it either full price or discounted.  You’ll especially like this recipe because it doesn’t use processed ingredients such as the common soy yogurt that other recipes use.

For a snack after, the lordship made a nice batch of crispy kale in the toaster oven. Normally I don’t like crispy kale but it was really good for some reason – maybe because I have been having the major munchies craving that I’m trying to eliminate from my life. I have the tendencies to eat when bored and with the cooler weather, I’m totally missing the outdoors lifestyle. Winter really isn’t my thing; it’s like winter jail or household arrest for Northerners. The crime- living in the Northern states of America. Boo, I want another jury please… I’ve even thought about setting myself under one of those grow lights for plants. Haha (As you can tell, my sanity also goes when the clouds come rolling in.) So, I’m just hoping the snow stops falling and the sunshine beams on down.

To make crispy kale chips: lightly spray pieces of kale with oil, sprinkle with salt and place in a toaster oven for about 2-5 minutes. You can also do this in the oven but it saves energy if you have a toaster oven. Mmmm

What do you do without sunshine in your life for months on end? Any tricks to not binge eating?

