Tags

, , ,


Oh my the house smells amazing! Seriously they need to figure out the whole “scratch and sniff” option for the internet so you all can understand the smell I’m having to resist right now. This morning as I was making coffee, I noticed we had a good amount of bananas left over that needed to be recreated into something special. In other words, a tasty breakfast/dessert…. We absolutely love Chef Chloe’s Coconut Banana Cake Recipe that I talked about HERE.  I’ve been trying to stop the sugar from pouring down on our kitchen though, so something a bit more healthy was in order which is how I found this recipe.

The Banana Chocolate Chip Millet Muffins comes from the lovely and talented mom we all wish we had over at Peas and Thank You.  It is a combination of ground millet, whole wheat flour and ripened bananas. The usage of millet intrigued me because I have never tried it out even though we purchase millet from our local Chinese grocery store in bulk. I just had to try it out.

So, along with my trusty Capresso coffee grinder, I made a powder of the millet, which only took about 3 minutes in total. It probably should have taken more like 5 minutes to grind it all but 1) I was inpatient and 2) I love the tiny yellow balls in my muffins because it adds to the “kawaii factor”. Thankfully the muffins turned out just as planned and could not have been happier. I used a traveling muffin tin that I purchased last night – so excited about a new kitchen pan!!!! Boy am I excited to have a muffin pan that you can toss in the oven, remove, and take on the go. It saves a lot of time, energy and my husband can take it to work without spilling the prepared goodies all over the place. Lol Love you honey!

My husband isn’t home just yet but I have snuck in a few nibbles and man are these muffins delicious! I would have to say they are the most delicious whole wheat muffins I have ever tried! But then again it’s no surprise seeing its from Mama Pea.

I didn’t really change the recipe although I would like to mention that I doubled the vanilla extract (again because I just wanted to and because I was too lazy to measure it out, oops). Additionally I used Trader Joe’s Almond Milk (unsweetened) which gives it a nice sweet scent compared to using other non-dairy milks such as unsweetened rice milk, I’m sure. I highly suggest you checking out this recipe and others over at Peas and Thank You, you won’t be disappointed. Enjoy!

Ingredients (12 muffins)

  • 2/3 c. millet (I used yellow)
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour (Trader Joes)
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 2 bananas, mashed (Mine were browning)
  • 1/2 c. organic brown sugar
  • 2 T. canola oil
  • 1/2 c. non-dairy or organic milk (Trader Joes Almond Milk)
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1/2 c. non-dairy or organic chocolate chips (Ghiradelli)

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Measure your millet into a food processor, spice mill or high speed blender and pulse into a fine texture.
  • Pour into a large bowl and add flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  • Mash bananas, and add to oil, milk, brown sugar and vanilla.
  • Fold the wet ingredients into the dry.
  • Spoon the batter into the lined muffin cups and top with banana slices.
  • Bake 17-19 minutes. (Mine only took about 15 minutes)

I you make these, let me know what you think please. And if you don’t get the time, what is your favorite whole wheat muffin recipe?

