Tags

, , ,


Sometimes you just want to eat something cold on a hot, steamy day. There are tons of recipes on the internet for lettuce based salads but in our household we love to have cold chopped salads. Not sure if that’s the exact term for this sort of salad but that’s what I’m calling it, so we’ll just have to stick with it. Normally I have a cute story to tell you about my inspiration but to tell you the truth I had nothing for this recipe. Actually I wanted to make my favorite Hiking Chopped Salad but unfortunately we didn’t have most of the ingredients so I had to improvise with what was available in our kitchen. Thankfully it worked out- whew!

1 1/2 c soybeans, cooked
¾ c corn, cooked
4 radishes, thinly sliced
1/8-1/4 c chopped onions, chopped or sliced
1/8-1/4 c flavored vinegar (I used cherry vinegar but apple cider is okay too)
½ tbsp oil
½ tsp cumin (optional)
1 tsp garlic, sliced or minced

Directions 1:
Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Serve cold as is or on top of a plate of lettuce. If you want to make it a whole meal, toss it on top of a bowl of cooked grains such as millet or quinoa. Nom Nom Nom

Directions 2:
Toss all the ingredients in a frying pan and sauté until everything is golden brown. It can be eaten warm straight from the stove or served cold as a side-dish.

This recipe reminds me of Japan’s Mameshiba (which I love and can’t get here… tears) Do you know this character?

