Tags

, ,


In my life I’m constantly going through stages, which also inadvertently gets redirected to my eating preferences. Some stages have been completely insane such as eating basically only white, processed ingredients along with cheese (High School years), only fresh veggies and no fruits, only smoothies from a can and so on. Thankfully my eating habits have settled down a bit after going vegan but now I find myself eating in stage ethnicity. Right now the husband and I prefer middle-eastern foods- one that was never even mentioned in our small homegrown town. Still today we are introducing many different ethnic cuisines to our small hometown patrons when we return on holidays.

I’ve always been the cultural outcast in my small town, never one to set up roots in just one area – a cultural no-no in my hometown. But that’s okay because without my exterior preferences, I would never have tried the “green wheat” otherwise known as Freekeh. The traditional method of making freekeh is to steam it similar to making rice with vegetable broth instead of water. Due to our addition, I wanted to use the healthy grain more than just traditional methods. So, I went ahead and searched and found a few different options such as freekeh burgers. We made this recipe along with Quinoa Sweet Potato Vegan Burgers but couldn’t get enough of the Freekeh ones. Yum!

The original recipe is a producer of Freekeh in Australia.  I only changed a few things to meet our tastebuds and loved the flavor completely! Additionally, the burgers held up very well without falling apart at all.
Serves around 6-8 burgers

1 large onion, finely chopped
2 medium carrots, grated
2 sticks celery, grated
30 ml olive oil
5 large cloves garlic, crushed
250g cooked Freekeh
2 tsp ground cumin
21 tsp ground coriander
1/4 c fresh parsley, chopped
1 tbsp flaxseed mixed with 1 tbsp water
100 g fresh bread crumbs
Juice from 1/2 lemon
Salt and pepper

Fry onion, carrot, and celery in the oil until soft and lightly browned. Transfer to bowl and combine with garlic, Freekeh TM, cumin, coriander, parsley, and lemon juice. Add egg and process roughly in a blender until mixture binds together, then add bread crumbs, salt/pepper, and refrigerate for 1 hour. Shape the mixture into burgers.  We used a grill pan to grill these burgers but you can fry in a little oil or even bake in the oven.

