Tags

, ,

My husband and I have a serious addiction to baked tofu. We love to Trader Joes’ Baked Tofu and could eat a few servings a day if given the chance. There are also a few other brands from Thailand that we enjoy from our local Chinese grocery store but they are a bit more dry than TJ’s brand. For a package of two-servings, it costs around $3.99 in our local Trader Joe’s. The price compared to quality is a great find, but it doesn’t fit in our budget as much as I would hope. So, I decided I would make my own version at home.

Once I found this recipe from the In Good Taste website, I couldn’t wait to try it out. (The I.G.T website is amazing – go check it out!)  The ingredients are always in our kitchen, so it couldn’t have been easier to put together. The hardest part of the entire process is waiting for the timer to ding telling you its dinnertime. The smell is fantastic and reminds me of a lot of my Japanese dishes I already make in my house. We did find that in our oven (which is temperamental), the cooking time did have to be doubled and still did not completely dry out like the store variety. We will in fact make this again but I believe we will slice the tofu and place in only half of the liquids. Without a doubt, we will make it again – it’s just fantastic!

1 block extra-firm tofu, pressed and blotted dry
1 lime, juiced
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp mirin
1 tbsp dark sesame oil
2 tsp vegan hoisin sauce
2 tsp light brown sugar
2-inch piece ginger, peeled and minced (I didn’t take the time to finely mince because I love ginger.

Preheat the oven to 400ºF. In a small bowl, combine all ingredients except the tofu. Place the tofu in a small baking dish and pour the marinade over top, coating well. Allow to sit out at room temperature for 30 minutes, tossing occasionally to make sure the tofu is coated with the marinade.

Place in the oven, uncovered, and allow tofu to bake until most of the marinade has been absorbed and the top of the tofu begins to brown, about 35 minutes. Remove tofu from the oven and allow to cool. Serve immediately over spinach or brown rice [or both!].

