Tags

, , , ,


DH (Darling Husband) and LP (Lazy Puppy) were fast asleep this last Sunday when I decided to make a warm breakfast to equalize the blizzard that was happening just outside our window. We had sweets from a local bakery just Friday, so I really didn’t want anything too over the top such as waffles or pancakes but biscuits were just right. We have about 1.5 bags full of freshly frozen cranberries left from Christmas so it was only befitting to use some up. Hello important Polyphenol Antioxidants (prevents cancer, heart-disease and etc), Vitamin C, Dietary Fiber and Manganese!

This recipe has been sitting around my household for quiet some time now. I have a large file folder on my computer that I keep track of tried and untried recipes labeled according to the corresponding meal-course. Everyone does that right? I took my time putting this simple recipe together and was thrilled to get some ingredients out of the fridge, it’s clean out week. Sitting around were 4 tsp’s full of orange zest and a few Cara Cara Oranges that needed attending to fast.

The biscuits were very easy to put together. Biscuits are rather an easy project if you are just starting out, especially drop biscuits which I made these become between I was too lazy to roll them out, not to mention they were really sticky. Of course, I’m sure you were waiting for it; I changed a few things up to accommodate my needs. My changes to the recipe were minimal this time but can be seen below. You can also see the original here at Vegalicious Online for free.

1 c white whole wheat flour (not bleached)
1/2 c whole-wheat flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder
2 tbsp white sugar
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp cinnamon
6 tablespoons vegan margarine, in small pieces
1/2 c frozen cranberries, chopped (no need to thaw)
2 tsp orange zest
1/2 cup orange juice

1.Place all the dry ingredients into a food processor. Give it a whirl to mix.
2.Add the vegan margarine and blend a lightly sandy consistency. Pour out into a bowl to mix in the rest of the ingredients.
3.Pre-heat the oven to 400 F / 204 C.
4.Add the chopped cranberries and zest and mix lightly.
5.Add the orange juice and mix until the dough is just moistened.
6.Drop equal portions onto a cookie sheet prepared with baking parchment.
7.Bake it in the oven for 15- 18 minutes until lightly golden brown.
8.Remove from the oven and enjoy warm.

