Tags

, , ,


Oh my goodness I am addicted to making donuts in my new donuts pan! Who ever thought of this should be given an award (unlike the person who thought up using a car horn when locking car doors – grrr). My husband and I found a normal sized donut pan for a good price just before Christmas and I was literally jumping and down in the store in excitement! Seriously, I was like the opposite of a child having a temper tantrum in a candy store, only in the kitchen section. At least I got the baking pan I had been dreaming of for a few years and the nice surveillance camera police (are they called police?) had a good show.  Now if I can only find a Hello Kitty donuts pan!

Since bringing home my latest addition, I have tried tossing lots of recipes together trying out the new toy. I’m not a kitchen gadget person but when something changes the way you can cook, I’m all over it. My latest donuts trial was Isa Chandra-Moskowitz’s Lemon Poppyseed Muffins. If you love lemon or just want a good reason to fail your next drug test (kidding, kidding), go for this recipe. When you bake the recipe (either in muffin or donut form) the kitchen starts to smell like a fresh lemon tree farm and brings a smile to everyone’s face. It’s like cleaning without all the hard work, just place a kitchen towel over those dirty dishes in the sink. If you can jump off cloud nine and grab a muffin/donut, you will see that this recipe provides a flaky, fluffy treat that is light in flavor due to the lemon. It has just enough sweetness in it to trick your sweet tooth but then is savory all at the same time.

I made one batch of the original recipe and made 6 donuts and 6 muffins in total. My husband loves to toss muffins and now swoons over donuts before he goes off to work. He claims the donuts are easier to handle at work when typing on the PC. The only difference between making the recipe into donuts is that they are a bit crispier on the outside. But donuts are supposed to have a crispy outside and a soft inside so I’m not complaining.

You can find the recipe HERE (my recipe is from Isa Chandra-Moskowitz’s cookbook so it doesn’t have yogurt).

