Tags

, , ,


Breakfast options really just confuse me, all recipes seem to contain the same items and never really veer from the originals. Why is this? When I lived in Asia, I grew to love having leftovers for breakfast but here in the states it’s a bit different. Right now I’m trying to get back into smoothies. It’s one of those seasonal things that I can’t get involved with until at least spring. Maybe it’s due to the available fresh fruit and vegetables or the abundance of sunshine, not really sure the reason why I don’t crave them during the winter months.

This morning I went ahead and tried the Bolthouse Farms Blue Goodness. I’ve had other smoothies from this brand but this is the first time of this mixture. My personal favorite while on travel is the Green Monster – yum! I also like the traditional carrot juice too. Today I wanted something different though so I went for a personal favorite, the one with blueberries.

It was a bit of a shocker though when I tried the Blue Goodness smoothie. The other mixtures are sweet but not overpowering. My first sip was a knock me down, call me a medic surprise. I let my guard down with reading the nutritional chart on the back of the bottle before making my purchase. So, let me tell you, I was more than surprised to find out there is 28grams of sugar per serving~ that’s just half a bottle! Sugar is a carbohydrate and on a 2000 calorie diet a person needs 300grams of carbs. Just for a drink, that’s a lot of carbs taken away from your daily goal. Yikes!

I ended up only drinking ¾ serving because I just couldn’t have any more sweetness in the morning. The sweet toothed monster in my life will have to drink the rest of it – he’ll probably love it tomorrow morning.

Have you tried this smoothie mixture yet? What is your opinion?

Note: Can you see my new Hello Kitty speakers in the background? They light up pink! Love, love, love them!!!

