Tags

, , ,


The last three days my husband and I promised to have “hibernation” days. Our normal life is filled with activity, exercise and work. That means we are always on the run and very rarely get time to just sit back, relax and read, play games or etc. So seeing that we had 9 days off work we came back to our house early for three days of relaxation, three much needed relaxation days after spending the last week with family. By the third day I was bouncing off the walls with boredom so I decided it was high time to use the new casserole dish we had received from the in-laws. I’m not a casserole type of person so this was something entirely different in our household. I came up with this simple recipe to fill my relaxing hubby’s belly. Then after I announced there was a casserole awaiting to be cooked for dinner, my husband informed me those type of meals are usually for when the housewife is out of the house. Darn! The concept was wrong but boy did my man devour 1.5 bowls full.

Serves 6-8 people

4-6 servings of pasta (usually ¾ c of pasta per serving)
1 c Daiya Cheddar Cheese (vegan)
4 tbsp Vegan Parmesan Cheese (ours was Galaxy)
4 tbsp Nutritional Yeast (loaded with B12)
1 (15oz) can stewed tomatoes with basil and oregano
1 (15oz) can tomato sauce
1 (6oz) can tomato sauce
½ tsp hot pepper flakes, optional
½ c onion, chopped
5 garlic cloves, mined or sliced
2 Vegan sausages (we had tofurky Italian Sausage), sliced
2 small zucchini, sliced
Basil Leaves for decoration on top

1. Boil the pasta until just about al dente. Remove from pan and rinse.
2. Saute the onion, hot pepper flakes and garlic in a frying pan with 2 tbsp water. (no oil needed unless you want to)
3. Once the onion/garlic mixture is slightly translucent, add the stewed tomatoes, tomato sauces (both), sausage and zucchini slices. Mix well and heat until warmed all the way through.
4. Mix in the pasta that has now cooled slightly.
5. Toss the mixture into the casserole dish.
6. Top with the three different vegan cheeses. Add the basil leaves for a nice decoration on top. Note: You can add oregano, basil, thyme or whatever other spices but I didn’t because my stewed tomatoes were already heavily spiced.
7. Place aluminum foil on top and put in the fridge for later use. Or you can cook right away.
8. Preheat oven to 350F. Bake the casserole for about 30-40 minutes, or until the cheese has melted and the tomato sauce is bubbling.
9. Cool for a few minutes and then enjoy!

