Tags

, , , ,


Along with the Applesauce Muffins I made yesterday morning, I went ahead on a baking spree and made a full recipe of Three-Grain Raspberry Muffins. Guess this was a good trial baking run for Christmas Cookie Weekend with the husband, one day and counting. Hooray! Don’t you love this time of the year? The house smells so wonderful absolutely all the time. Mmmm Not sure what it is doing to my calorie count though, oops. But I won’t go into that right now. Ha-ha

This recipe I received in a newsletter from the Mayo-Clinic of which I am a member through my husband’s work. It’s hard to find vegan recipes on their site (or through the newsletters) but this one was easy to convert to a healthy, vegan muffin for breakfast. I love adding whole-grains to a breakfast for the husband, one that doesn’t change the taste. The recipe calls for raspberries but unfortunately our farmer’s market never had enough throughout the season, at a reasonable price, to freeze this last summer. So, I went ahead and added some Michigan frozen blueberries that we picked this last fall. We still have two large bags so I presume we’ll have enough for the rest of the season even when our addition to smoothies jumps back into step this spring. Secretly I have some frozen strawberries too but I’m saving those for a day the husband is having a hard time, they will cheer him up instantly. So the blueberries were sacrificed…

The final muffins came out perfectly! Not to overuse this phrase but these little guys created a party in my mouth. At first you get hit with the smell of the blueberries baking in the oven and you are instantly drawn to them. Then when you take the first bite, you notice they are not only fluffy but thanks to the cornmeal they are also slightly crunchy. Not crunchy as in a potato chip but there was definitely a texture unlike other muffins. I loved it so much, I ate two myself (which I usually don’t get past a full one) but I might just add cornmeal to other recipes to see how it goes. Here’s my tip though, do not, (Seriously – do not!) make these muffins in the morning if you are on a diet and are going to be around the house. The smell is just so tantalizing you are going to be sneaking muffins the entire day without even knowing what happened.

Since this muffin recipe is from a newsletter and also available online, I’m placing the original recipe here with my substitutions.

Makes 12 Muffins

1/2 cup rolled oats
1 cup vanilla soy milk
3/4 cup all-purpose (plain) flour, non-enriched
1/2 cup cornmeal, preferably stone-ground
1/4 cup wheat bran
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sugar
3 1/2 tablespoons canola oil
2 tsp grated orange zest
1 tbsp flaxseeds
2/3 cup blueberries

1. Preheat the oven to 400 F. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper or foil liners.
2. Add all the ingredients in a large bowl and give it a good mix. Gently fold in the blueberries.
3. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups, filling each cup about 2/3 full.
4. Bake until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 16 to 18 minutes. Transfer the muffins to a wire rack and let cool completely. (Yeah, that cooling part was from the original, but trust me you are going to need bodyguards to steer clear of these tasty treats. Who’s going to be able to stay clear until the cool down?)

