Tags

, , , , , ,


Sorry for my blogs far and few in between, the holiday season has really hit our household hard this year. For me, I am working hard on health articles and creating new and exciting new recipes for the holidays and the husband has been working double time just to get his work done before the end of the year. It’s all worth it though (even though our little cutie neighbor thinks I’ve forgotten about her), so we can have a full week vacation around the holidays. A full week of nothing but relaxing, I can’t wait!

Last weekend my husband and I celebrated our birthdays. Yep as in both of us… For some strange reason, everyone in my family is either born in December or February. It’s great to have more reason to celebrate the holiday season but it does get a little stressful trying to get everything done on time without forgetting something important. I managed to make a Vegan Birthday Cake for the two of us, plus a piece for just about everyone in America. Although I don’t like chocolate cake (I’m not a chocolate fan – it’s okay – breath in and then out), I made it in honor of my husband’s birthday. Hey, if it is a flavor that I don’t like then I won’t eat as much of it right?

I got the recipe from the Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and then went crazy with the chocolate on top. The original recipe can be found in the cookbook under Chocolate Cupcakes. After I used the cookbook recipe and doubled it, I found that Post Punk Kitchen had the recipe online in cake form, too funny! You can find the recipe at: Here.

For my version, I wanted to make it peppermint chocolate cake – in honor of the holidays. To tell the truth, I wanted to make oreo chocolate cake but we only had Trader Joe’s seasonal candy cane oreos (which is not a bad thing). So, I improvised and couldn’t have been happier. If you have never had the chance to have these oreo’s from TJ’s, run there now! Seriously, why are you reading this still? Now that you are back… I also added Chocolate frosting and if that wasn’t enough of a sugar rush, a ganache on top of that. Yes everyone was in chocolate heaven. The ganache I used organic, fair trade mint dark chocolate instead of regular dark chocolate to match the flavor of the oreos in the cake.

Here’s the recipe for Cake:
Chocolate Cake (double this recipe for a full round cake)
Makes one 8 inch circle cake

1 cup almond milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder, Dutch-processed or regular (or a mix of both)
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
10 Oreo Cookies (I used Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Oreo’s but you can use any)

Preheat oven to 350F.

Whisk together the soy milk and vinegar in a large bowl, and set aside for a few minutes to curdle. Add the sugar, oil, vanilla and almond extract and mix well.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add in two batches to wet ingredients and beat until no large lumps remain (a few tiny lumps are OK).

Lightly grease an 8 inch springform pan. Pour in the batter and bake for 32 to 35 minutes, until a toothpick inserted through the center comes out clean.

Gooey Ganache
2/3 cup almond milk (or your favorite non-dairy milk)
8 oz semi sweet chocolate chips
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup

In a small saucepan bring the milk to a boil then lower heat to a simmer. Add the chocoate chips and maple syrup and mix with a fork. Turn heat off and mix until thoroughly melted. Let cool for about 15 minutes before using.

Sorry I can’t post the frosting recipe because I can’t find it online and I don’t want to post a recipe that is copyrighted.  But, seriously, go by the cookbook – you will not be disappointed!

Happy Birthday My Dear Husband!

