Tags

, , , , ,

Completely shocked, I took the last muffin out of the freezer the beginning of this week.  Generally when I make muffins I tend to hoard half away in the freezer for my husband to take to work when he feels it is a “muffin morning”.  He loves sweets in the morning but there just some days I’d rather yell at the cold air, and not get up early to make a fresh batch.  This tends to happen more and more throughout the winter months when the warm bed opens its arms and lures me in for an extra 15-20 minutes after my alarm clock goes off.  So, it was beyond time to make a few more batches.

It was also my chance to reduce my ever growing “untried recipes” folder on my computer.  I loved the recipe called Applesauce Muffins straight off The Cancer Project Website.  The organization is not only a loving organization but also one that I love to support and spread the word.  Unfortunately I’m not able to support financially so I love to support them through word-of-mouth advertising.  But hey, that’s the best form of advertising for any company or organization, or so I learned while taking numerous marketing classes in high school and college.

This specific muffin recipe calls for 1 cup of applesauce, so as you all know, I have tons of the stuff in our household from this fall season.  It was plum applesauce but hey I was “game”.    I have more frozen applesauce so I wasn’t going to worry about wasting any of it on a recipe, even if it turned out bad.  Thankfully the final result did turn out rather good but it did take a little bit to get it right.  At first I tried to do the recipe according to the original but found that it was just not going to work out.  It didn’t have enough moisture to make a nice fluffy muffin which is absolutely essential to a good muffin recipe right?  Here’s the original recipe with my additions:

Makes 10 muffins
2 1/2 cups whole-wheat pastry flour
1/4 cup sugar (preferably raw or turbinado)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 1/2 cup soy or other nondairy milk
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon molasses (not blackstrap)
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Stir together flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.

In a larger bowl, combine applesauce, nondairy milk, oil, molasses, and vinegar. Mix thoroughly. Add flour mixture and stir just to mix. Stir in raisins. Spoon into muffin cups, filling 3/4 full, and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes.

Note:  These muffins are a bit heavier seeing that it calls for whole wheat pastry flour instead of regular white flour.  You can easily substitute the wheat flour with white non-enriched flour and you will be perfectly fine, just reduce the milk content to around 1 cup.

The final muffin was just “okay”.  It was a nice alternative but as for the taste test, it was just not up to our standards.  For instance, it was heavy and not light, fluffy.  Additionally, there were not enough flavors in each bite.  If I ever were to make the recipe again, I would probably add more cinnamon and maybe even some pumpkin pie spice or something to give it flavor.  The whole wheat flour just overtakes the other flavors.  If you are not into super sweet, light muffins, this is the recipe for you.  I might make these for my in-laws seeing they prefer more mild flavors and would enjoy the whole wheat benefits.

 

