Tags

, , , , ,


French food is not my specialty, the reason mainly due to meat being the main ingredient in most recipes, but I absolutely love the countries’ traditional bread recipes. Just recently I have fallen in love with a variety of crusted savory pie called a “Galette”. A galette is basically a type of freeform pie similar to the English Shepherd’s pie and American casseroles. Crusted savory, I mean, in the sense most traditional will contain vegetables and meat. It can also refer to a dessert item that produces a sweet but savory flavor such as apple galette but in this article I’m showcasing a savory.

Wikipedia.org suggests a galette is similar to a Chinese Bing but I have no clue as to why it states this, there are basically no similarities that I can see. If I were asked to describe this French dish, I would go into how it appears to be a savory pie that has been done by hard-working peasants that wanted to make a complete meal without too many hours in the kitchen. Hence, it is a free-form pie crust over vegetables and traditionally animal meat.

This recipe has found its way to my “kitchen to-do list” (Everyone has one of these, right?). Thankfully last time we were in Michigan we came across an amazing discount on small baby zucchini- about 20 for $.80 USD! Of course I bought two bags. So, they were calling my name as I opened the refrigerator the other night after a 5k run and a 5k walk with the husband.

I used our food processor to make the dough in about one-minute and stuck it in the freezer to chill while I sliced all the other ingredients and prepared them for the oven. It had very few steps and could easily be done after one gets home from work or after a long workout. I did add a few different ingredients to add flavor. Unfortunately, even though my attempts, we felt the dish still did not have much flavor. I’m guessing after I changed it from a vegetarian dish to vegan, it did lose the flavor after subtracting some of the cheese. Vegetarian dishes are a great alternative for carnivores but when cheese makes the dish, what’s the point of putting vegetables in it? I will probably make this again but I would double the herbs that I added and maybe even add a few other vegetables for flavor purposes.

Zucchini & Caramelized Onion Galette – Veganized

Serves 4-6
Filling
1 medium zucchini (sliced into rounds)- or 6 baby zucchini, sliced
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 medium onion (thinly sliced)
1 tbsp vegan butter (or you can use oil instead)
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
5 cloves garlic (minced)
1 sprig fresh rosemary
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp olive oil
A little salt and pepper to taste, optional
1/2 cup Daiya cheese

Crust (use recipe or buy store selection)
This recipe is from the Vegetarian Librarian
1 1/3 cup non-enriched whole-wheat white flour
1 Tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup soy butter
4 Tbsp cold water

1. If you are making your pie crust (which I highly suggest), let’s make it first. Place all the ingredients in a large bowl or food processor with bread attachment. Mix all the ingredients together and put into a ball shape. Wrap with plastic wrap and place in the freezer until you are finished with the filling preparations.
2. Spread the zucchini over paper towels, sprinkle with salt and let drain (about 30 minutes).
3. Meanwhile, melt butter & olive oil in a large skillet and cook the onion over medium heat until soft and golden brown (about 10-20 minutes)
4. Preheat the oven to 400F.
5. To assemble the galette, roll out the pie crust on parchment paper in a round shape. Don’t worry about being perfect, that’s the beauty of this dish.
6. In the center of the dough, layer half of the Daiya cheese.
7. Next, layer half of the onions, then the garlic.
8. Layer the final layer of zucchini, onion, then the remaining cheese.
9. Fold the edges of the galette over the filling. Easily do this by lifting the parchment paper up on the sides and give it a light press to assure it stays put.
10. Place the entire galette and parchment paper in a round pie pan to assure the dough doesn’t slip when removing it from the oven. This step makes the galette easy to move around and to transfer to a serving plate. Bake the galette until golden brown, around 20-30 minutes
11. Let cool about 5 minutes before slicing since it will be very hot! Enjoy!

Note:  Sorry about the photo quality again.  I’m trying to get used to my new iPhone camera and haven’t quite gotten the use of it in the challenging lighting inside our house at night.  I think it’s time to start using my DSLR again with a lighting box (if I ever build it). haha

