Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


After coming back from vacation my stomach really hasn’t been able to handle much of anything, since I have some sort of nasty bug. Grrrr to whoever gave it to me. This nasty airborne bug for some reason comes with the side-effects of tomato cravings. Weird right? To tell the truth, normally warmed tomatoes aren’t something I crave but as I tackle this bug, there just aren’t enough tomatoes in our house. This is a recipe that I learned to toss together this last week for lunch that contains enough nutrients to provide my fragile immune system.

¼ c couscous
1 c leafy greens (I used Japanese spinach, kale and/or collard leaves)
1 can tomatoes with juices
3 cloves garlic, sliced
¼ c onions, chopped
½ tsp cumin
¼ tsp turmeric

1. Toss it all in a pot on high on the stove. Bring to a boil and stir until mixed well. Turn to medium-high heat and cover. Heat for about 5 minutes so that hot steam can really build-up.
2. Turn off the heat but do not remove the lid. Leave for about 5 minutes so that the couscous can continue to cook without using heat.
3. Place in a bowl and devour!

Variation on Cooking:
Toss all the ingredients in a pot on high heat. Continuously cook on high for about five minutes until it is all finished. I did this one day when I was grouchy, had no patience and was starving. Works both ways, just depends on you attitude and time restrictions.

