Tags

, , ,


Vegan Pumpkin Pie try #2 = slightly strange but okay. My second attempt this year at finding the best vegan pumpkin pie recipe hails from La Pure Mama. This recipe has been sitting in my list of “to try” for a while but I’m just now getting to it. It sounds amazingly sweet and savory all at the same time when you peruse the ingredients. It has bananas and pumpkin puree! When I first read the ingredients it reminded me of my adolescent years tossing whatever ingredients I liked into a concoction to my less than enthusiastic family members. I never did understand why they didn’t jump for joy like me when I served these “dishes”.

As I made this recipe, according to the instruction (gasp, I know!) I thought the banana quantity did seem a bit high for one pumpkin pie. It was more banana than pumpkin but I stuck to the recipe and made it according to the original at La Pure Mama website. I hoped so hard that this would turn out but it really did have an odd flavor. It needed about three times the suggested seasonings and half the amount of bananas. The husband and I tried this and instantly thought the same thing. Although we didn’t care for the recipe, I’m sure if you make the corrections listed above, it would be a nice little banana pumpkin pie fit for dessert after a casual meal.

Cons: Tastes too banana’y and needs tons more spice. (but that’s our opinion)
Pros: Holds together very nicely and has no added processed sugar

Here’s the original recipe thanks to La Pure Mama
1 batch homemade vegan pie crust
12 oz ripe banana, smashed (about 3 medium bananas)
2 cups pumpkin puree (canned or fresh)
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup corstarch
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (preferrably freshly grated)
1/4 teaspoon fresh ginger, ground fine
1/4 teaspoon cloves
Do:
If you haven’t pre-made your pie crust, do that now.

Preheat oven to 350.

Roll out pie crust to a thin 1/16 inch thickness. Gently place crust in pie dish, ensuring that it is pressed down into the corners. You should have crust hanging over the side of your dish. Cut most of it off then pinch the rest, creating a cute crimpy design.

Cover just the edges of your pie crust with thin strips of tin foil (this will prevent the upper crust from burning during the pre-bake.
Bake in oven for 8-10 minutes then remove, take off the tin foil and let cool. Note: you don’t have to do this step but personally I can’t stand pie crust that hasn’t been pre-cooked. The bottom is soggy and mushy; I suggest taking the extra time. It makes a difference.

While your crust is baking and cooking, combine banna, pumpkin puree, maple syrup, cornstarch, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, ginger and cloves in a food processor and pulse/blend until very smooth.
Pour mix into your pie crust and smooth evenly.
Place pie in oven and bake for 40 to 45 minutes until the crust is golden brown. Note: your filling will be fairly solid but will also firm up while it cools so don’t worry if it looks a little ‘loose’.

Allow your pie to cool for at least 1 hour (or until pie is about room temperature) before serving.

