Tags

, , , , , , ,


Finally I have fallen off my BetterOats Oatmeal addiction (okay so truthfully I ran out) and have worked my way back to the wonderful world of tofu. We have two packages of my favorite Nasoya tofu that is actually made from sprouted soybeans, it is easier to digest. It’s hard to find in our area so when I can find it, I collect them in our fridge. Tofu is one of those ingredients that you can use in just about anything and it gives 7 grams of protein per 3 ounce serving. That’s about the same size as a deck of playing cards.

So for breakfast I want along and found some great leftover vegetables to go along with my tofu. Here’s the recipe that I have had the last few days:

1 serving tofu, crumbled
½ c red cabbage, shredded
½ c kale, chopped
½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp onion powder
½ tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp soy sauce, tamari or etc
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
Pepper to taste if needed

1. Spray a hot frying pan with spray oil. Toss in the crumbled tofu and sauté until slightly browned.
2. Sprinkle the powders and nutritional yeast over the browned tofu crumbles.
3. Add the kale and cabbage in the same frying pan as the tofu. Turn off the heat.
4. Sprinkle the soy sauce over the top of the mixture and stir well. The residual heat will steam the kale and cabbage perfectly without any heat from the stovetop.
5. Season with pepper and serve immediately. If you are going to be waiting a little bit after cooking, place the mock egg scramble on a plate and cover with aluminum foil.

