Tags

, , , , , ,


Accidentally I watched a cooking show while running on a treadmill in the gym the other day. It lead me into a deep desire to have cupcakes. Since it is pumpkin season, I didn’t have to put too much thought into the process because I knew I wanted to make pumpkin spice cupcakes.

It didn’t take long before I found a recipe that I wanted to use for the cupcakes. Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero to the rescue with Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World Cookbook.  Hooray!! If you aren’t aware of this cookbook (or gasp!) authors, you have to check it out ASAP.

True to me, I changed a few things to suit our tastebuds. Here are my changes:

Applesauce instead of oil
Unsweetened Almond milk instead of soy milk
2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of the recommended amount
½ tsp ground cloves
½ c dark chocolate chips

Thanks to the cutie 15 month old next door, I got to use my little muffin tin pan. I love making tiny cupcakes, not only because they are cute but because you can eat a few and not feel as guilty as if you ate large ones. They turned out great and without too much effort, best for bakers.

Afterward I decided that the cupcakes had to have vegan Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting instead of the Cinnamon Icing that was in the original recipe from Cupcakes Take over the World Cookbook. I didn’t see a recipe out there on the blogosphere so I made up my own – which is sometimes just as easy. Here’s the recipe:

Pumpkin Spice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe:
½ c vegan Cream Cheese (I used Tofutti Brand)
¼ c vegan butter (I used Earth Balance Brand)
¼ c pumpkin puree (I used fresh from our own pumpkin)
3 c confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp ground cinnamon
¼ tsp ground cloves

Cream it all together in a medium bowl until it is the consistency you prefer for your cupcakes. You might have to add more confectioner’s sugar depending on how your turns out and the moisture level in your house.

