Tags

, , , , ,

The darling husband and I had just gotten back earlier in the day from a local farm that we purchase all our produce from right now.  That meant we had tons of corn and tiny pie pumpkins – oh so delicious looking.  Naturally we couldn’t wait to try to make something from our harvest season finds so we got to work looking for a recipe.  Well, my husband was looking and I was in the kitchen getting started already.  I had in mind a lovely bowl of yellow, creamy corn soup with a hint of pumpkin.  So, when the husband found a new vegan website called Naturally Ella.  It contained a recipe similar to the one that I had already started to create.  I recreated the recipe to meet the needs, and follow along with the recipe that I had already planned out in my mind.  It turned out just as I had intended and simply delicious!  Here is my Creamy corn soup recipe but you if you want another option go to Naturally Ella and check out her recipe too.

My recipe:
4 large ears of sweet corn, divided
1/4 cup roasted pumpkin
3 clove garlic
¼ large onion, cubed
2 cup vegan vegetable broth
1 cup water
1 large fresh sprig rosemary

 

1.  With a sharp knife carefully remove the kernels from the corn cobs.  Or if you don’t have corn on the cob, you can use a frozen bag of corn too.  Place ¼ cup of corn kernels in a small bowl for later.
2.  Put one tbsp water in a soup pot on high heat on the stove.  Add the onion, garlic, rosemary and corn.  Sauté until the corn seems to caramelize.  Basically when you smell the sweetness come out of the fresh corn you know it’s ready.
3.  Add the vegetable broth, water, and pumpkin and bring it to a boil.  Simmer for about 5-10 minutes, or until everything is heated through.
4.  Take out the rosemary.  Pour the rest of the soup mixture into a blender and give it a good whirl until it reaches the desired consistency you prefer.
5.  Add the resting ¼ cup corn kernels to the soup and place it all back on the stove to warm up.  Serve with some warm homemade bread and you have a full meal within itself.

 

