Tags

, , , ,

“The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite” has a wonderful recipe to make mock feta cheese. Feta cheese is something that I truly miss now that I am vegan. Sure, I can live without it but it is possible for me to still have it as a vegan variety. *happy dance*

My husband found this great book a few months ago that I was a little skeptical about called The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions. It has a lot of different ideas for substituting everyday ingredients that can be seen in a carnivores’ menu but less guilt and tends to be healthier.

The complete guide provides a great alternative to traditional feta cheese. Sure it doesn’t taste 100% the same but if it’s worth less the guilt, I am totally for it. I found that if you add another tsp of salt, it really makes the difference. In addition, I added some of the caper juice which definitely does add some more sodium but traditional feta cheese does have a higher amount too.

A full recipe does certainly provide enough for a lot of different recipes, so it’s easy to test it out on various types of plates. Before going vegan, I was vegetarian and would always have feta cheese on a large bed of mixed organic lettuce greens. It tasted similar but not as salty as the original. If you place a few other things such as carrots, tomatoes, banana peppers and so on to the bed of greens, it creates a full delicious meal. Then we also tried it on vegan pizza, in pasta dishes and other recipes that would normally take feta cheese. It’s very versatile and makes a great substitute for those of you vegans trying to wean oneself of feta cheese.

I could not find the original recipe online but you can find a slightly modified version here on Food.Com. I highly suggest finding yourself a copy of the original cookbook though and feasting on all the delicious substitute ingredients and meals it instructs those reading to make.

