Tags

, , , , , ,


This is another strange side dish that I came up with the other day when I had so much cabbage, some of it had to become a side dish to relieve some stress on the fridge.

To release some stress on my fridge, the other day I came up with this simple dish that uses cabbage. Cabbage is one of those vegetables that catch my eye at the farmers market; hence, our fridge is always overflowing. Its vegan and very inexpensive which just happen to be two of my most favorite things. Two cheers for cabbage!

This ended up being a side dish that consisted of only three ingredients. The caraway seeds for some reason take away the cabbag’y flavor that so many people dislike. It was a wonderful addition to our Asian dinner of Korean brown rice and vegan stir-fry melody. You can pair it up with just about anything but I think its best as a side for other Asian dishes.

½ head cabbage, any kind and/or color
2 tsp caraway seeds
½ tbsp olive oil
½ tbsp sesame oil

1. Thinly slice the cabbage so that it cooks fast but can still be held with chopsticks. I chose to go along with 2 inches in length.
2. Heat the oils in a hot frying pan on high heat.
3. Toss in the cabbage and sauté until a little golden around the edges.
4. Turn off the heat and toss in the caraway seeds. Stir until well incorporated and then enjoy!

Note: Simply substitute water for the oils if you want to make this fat free. Please note that it will change the flavor though.

