Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Serves 4-6.  When I was surfing vegan blogs on the internet the other day, I came across For the Love of Food.  My husband and I absolutely adore millet, so I was looking for some new ideas.  I found this recipe and was instantly reminded of the PCRM website recipe for Hoppin’ John’s Salad.  Yep, it’s the same thing!  So, I decided to try my hand at combining these two recipes into something that would work for my family.  It was a nice warm salad that I would eat throughout the entire year.

Base Ingredients:
1 cup millet
2 cups filtered  water
2 cups cooked aduki beans, rinsed well
1/2 cup onion, minced
1 cup frozen corn

Dressing:
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon or lime juice
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup fresh cilantro, minced
1/2 tsp ground cumin
zest of 1 lime or lemon

Directions:

1.  Cover the Adzuki Beans with filtered water in a bowl overnight.  I like to cover the entire bowl with a towel to assure nothing falls in it nor does little sneaky paws get into it.

2.  Rinse the Adzuki Beans well with water.  (Tip: I like to pour this water into our house plants to give them nutrients and to not waste the water.)

3.  Place Adzuki Beans in a pot covered with just enough water so that you can boil the beans.  Boil for about ten minutes.  Turn off heat and cover with a lid.  Let this set just as it is (off heat) for about thirty minutes. The steam will fully cook the beans.

4.  Rinse the Adzuki Beans again with water.

5.  Finally place all the base ingredients into a rice cooker (or on stovetop) and cook as you normally would a batch of brown rice. Tip:  I like to put all the ingredients into our rice cooker before work and then when I come back it is all ready!

6.  Once mixture has finished cooking, pour into a large bowl.

7.  In small bowl, place the dressing ingredients and whisk for a few seconds.

8.  Toss the dressing over the base ingredients and there you have an entire dinner ready!  Enjoy!  ☆☆☆

Nutritional Information: (4 Servings)

304.5 calories
49.3carbs
8.1g fat
801.1mg potassium
1.6g sugar
11.8g protein