Tags

, , , , , , ,

Does anyone else have this issue?  Imagine it’s dark, gloomy and a bit drizzly outside most of the day.  It’s your day off from working out and all you want to do is cuddle up with a nice mindless book and read the entire day away.  Anyone?  Well, that’s the type of day I had today.  Thankfully I have a ton of books I want to get read before the end of our few months of vacation so I started in on my book.  Finally, I caught a moment and took advantage of the opportunity.  Three hours later I found myself reading but with a smile so I guess I can’t say the day was an entire loss.  (I finished work earlier than scheduled.)  Sometimes workout day offs are the best to catch up on things that otherwise aren’t getting done on workout days.  Genki Husband and I did manage to go out for our daily Pup Walks.  This time gave us the ability to check out the spring flowers still in bloom and save a few from leaf torture.  All is good in the world now.

It’s Wednesday so I though I would give you a ‘day in my life’ type of photo posting today.

Getting the breakfast nook ready at my in-laws around 6A.M. I get up an hour earlier than everyone else to get the breakfast table ready, prepare two breakfast meals (vegan and carnivore), and finally make coffee for everyone.

Making coffee is just something I have to do every morning… we make 2 pots since my in-laws drink a lot in the morning hours.

Genki Kitty getting ready to make breakfast at around 6A.M. sans makeup & hair brushing.  Oh the selfie… ha-ha  I’m really not the girlie-type of girl as you can tell.

The makings of the best fruit salad for breakfast. nom nom nom I could eat this everyday. Hawaiian Luau breakfast salad (this fruit chopped up and tossed). Blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, pineapple, orange, mango and a banana. (change up the fruit with the season)

Just a glimpse out of the front window in Michigan – gorgeous sunrise as I make breakfast for the family. Things seem so peaceful at this time of the morning.

Finally breakfast time with our fruit salad and homemade bread. It’s always a good idea to have some carbohydrates in the morning to get enough energy to last the entire morning.

Before everyone is awake, I work on this blog writing the post for the day, answering emails and doing some writing for work.

Snack Time: We had pineapple and Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter pretzels. We try to eat every few hours to keep our metabolism up so we burn off more calories throughout the day by having more energy. Tip: Usually a person on a restrictive diet doesn’t get enough calories in a day to actually lose weight.

Leftover Genki Kitty ‘Fried’ Rice with Korean Red Pepper Paste.

 

Genki Kitty Vegan Apple Pie leftover from yesterday. This was a small slice…

Genki Cat enjoying the outside air by the lake. Actually she enjoys eating the grass… ha-ha She’s an indoor cat normally so we put her on a “come with me kitty” harness.

Tonight we grilled chicken for my carnivore in-laws for dinner along with some fresh corn on the cob outside. Genki Furry Babies came out with us. This is the look Genki Pup gives when she wants something…

Guacamole Quinoa Salad with grilled corn on the cob and sliced cucumber with hummus on the side (not pictured). The quinoa turned out delicious and I might even suggest trying the ‘salad’ without the quinoa and making it into just a dip for chips.  Note:  We like red quinoa better but the original recipe photo had white so that’s the difference in appearance.

Evening Snack:  Not pictured.  We had some Indian Sugared Fennel Seeds (not sure of the name) and also a ton more Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter Pretzels.  So delicious!  If you haven’t tried them out, you should definitely grab a few bags worth (you can’t eat just one bag)

