Tags

, , , , ,

If you have ever baked muffins using cornmeal, you might be well aware that they do in fact generally get dry and crumbly.  To tell you the truth, I’m not a large fan but that was just because I have never really had the luck of finding the perfect moist muffin recipe.  Thankfully I found this recipe a while back and couldn’t believe that it wasn’t as dry as the others.  In fact, it was pretty good.  Remember I’m not a fan, so when I say that it’s “pretty good” means that it must be more than commendable.  I found this recipe from Destiny’s Kitchen.

The recipes were not only easy to put together but also were moister than I have had before in other cornmeal based recipes.  For you Gluten-free bakers, feel free to purchase gluten-free cornmeal and flour and have at these little treats.  My only negative comment about these muffins was that they did stick to the muffin liner a little.  But they are super tasty and if you are like me, a little sticking to the liner doesn’t stop removing it.  The husband really enjoyed these and didn’t miss the tons of sugar that normal cornmeal muffins contain when served for breakfast.  We did take these along for a small day trip and they lasted very well being schlepped around- no crumbling mess.

1 c. all-purpose flour
1 cup cornmeal
1 tbsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1/3 c. sugar
½ c corn or vegetable oil
¾ c soy milk
2 tbsp soy yogurt
1 tsp vanilla extract
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon
1 ¼ c. Blueberries

Preheat oven to 400F.  Lightly grease a 12 muffin tin.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In a separate bowl, whisk together the oil, soy milk, soy yogurt, vanilla, and lemon zest.  With a wooden spoon, fold the wet ingredients into the dry.  Fold in the blueberries, being careful not to overmix.

Fill each muffin cup three-quarters full.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center of one comes out clean.  Serve warm.

Note:  Since we were on the run when eating these muffins, I think I did something very out of the ordinary and forgot to take a photo. If I find it, I will post it again.  Or maybe I will just make them again… Nom nom nom

 

