Tags

, ,


Now that the weather is getting more to my liking, I am able to wake up earlier and make a warm, healthy breakfast for the hard working husband. It really does bring delight when I can send him off to work with a warm plate of food to enjoy after he has completely awoken. His work day does start before most people even think about hitting the snooze button for the first day – it’s his choice though. He likes to get into work early and start the day with a casual checking of email, planning the days’ schedule all while nibbling on a warm plate of food as he does his work.

This last week I tried really hard to get up every morning and make a fresh homemade breakfast. In my opinion, the trick to get a spouse out of bed is by simply having a little sweet something cooking in the kitchen and a fresh batch of coffee brewing alongside. It works just about every time. Oh the sweet trickery of the common housewife…

His lordship loves pancakes so I decided to make a healthy batch of Flax and Oat Filled pancakes from the lovely couple over at Never Home Maker.  It’s a nice mixture of ground oats and flaxseeds. When I came across this recipe, I was impressed at how close to tastes we had in recipe ingredients. It was something similar to my personal recipe, Fried Oatmeal with Caramelized Apple Slices.  Thankfully the new recipe was simple to put together thanks to my favorite Capresso Grinder. It took less than five minutes to toss together (even through my groggy eyes) and toss on the griddle pan. So easy! The husband raved about the taste, not believing me they were healthier than normal pancakes. He did have to use maple syrup but considering his normal pancakes have tons of sugar, I’m not going to complain about a little syrup. All in all, these were thin fluffy pancakes that can easily be made in less than ten minutes time. Try it, you won’t believe how easy pancakes can be to toss together.

The original is here:
•1/2 cup white whole wheat flour (unbleached — I used King Arthur)
•1/3 cup shredded coconut (unsweetened)
•1/3 cup flax meal
•1/2 cup rolled oats, processed into flour (just put 1/2 cup oats into your food processor and pulse until flour-y)
•1 rip banana
•1 cup soy milk
•1 teaspoon baking powder
•1 tablespoon agave
•1/3 cup rolled oats

Method . . .
1.Combine all ingredients in the large bowl of an electric stand mixer (fold in the whole rolled oats after everything is sufficiently mixed).
2.Add more soy milk if necessary (the mixture shouldn’t be TOO thick, but it will be relatively dense).
3.Oil a pan (I used canola oil) and set over medium heat.
4.Do your pancake thing. I found it was easier to make these guys pretty small (4 to 5 inches in diameter) . . . cook them briefly on the one side, then flip and FLATTEN (because they’ll tend to fluff up), continue cooking until nicely browned and done the whole way through.
5.Top with Earth Balance and maple syrup. Walnuts. Whatever else you enjoy.

