Tags

,

It strangely seems like the moment I try to reduce sugar in my diet, the hubby gets a superhero craving for sweet homemade goodies. Not that there is necessarily any doubt in my mind that I would ever completely eliminate sugary foods in our household but I would still like to reduce the amount in our kitchen. For now though, when the hardworking man asks for something sweet in the morning, that’s what I make for him. His request though came at the perfect time seeing that my online friend, Natalie, gave me this recipe to try out.

On Sunday, the early morning sunshine was streaming through our windows with previously hidden particles of dust dancing around our living room. This type of atmosphere really calls me into the kitchen to make a warm, homey breakfast for my loved ones. I opened all of our windows, front doorway and made a warm cozy pot of coffee as I started whipping together this banana coconut bread. The recipe was really easy to follow and put together, I really had no issues to complain about at least. Basically within no time I tossed the loaf in the oven and set off to get our outdoor patio ready for breakfast. After one hour in the oven the bread was steaming up our kitchen and I was already cutting through the crusty outer layer into the coconut’y crumble inside.

Even though I had to convert this recipe to be vegan, it turned out just as anyone would hope it for slightly sweetened breakfast bread. It had a tiny bit of sweetness from the banana and sugar while the coconut and walnuts brought down the ending flavor to a savory mood in your mouth. It was the perfect compliment to any good morning coffee you have on hand, or maybe tea at tea time. Please enjoy this veganized recipe and let me know what you think of it in the comment section below:  Thanks again Natalie for this recipe!  It’s perfect!

2 tbsp flaxseeds
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup vegan butter, melted

1/2c almond milk (or other nondairy milk)
1 cup mashed bananas (use very ripe ones- brown is better)
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
½ tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (whole wheat works also)
1/2 cup flaked coconut (I used organic, unsweetened)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or any kind)
1/2 cup maraschino cherries, chopped (I used dried papaya but any dried fruit works)

Mix together flour, coconut, baking powder, baking soda, salt, chopped walnuts, and cherries.
Break eggs in a mixing bowl, and beat until light and frothy. Add sugar and melted butter or margarine. Beat well. Stir in mashed banana and flavoring. Add flour mixture, and stir just to combine. Spoon into lightly sprayed 9x5x3 inch loaf pan.
Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Let stand for 10 minutes, and remove from pan. (I couldn’t wait 10 minutes and cut into it after about two minutes and it still didn’t fall apart.)

