Tags

, ,

Move over Isa Chandra, I think I might have to admit that I am stalking a new person – over at the amazing Korean website called Alien’s Day Out. (Okay, so maybe not completely finished but minimized… hehe) Mipa  is one of my favorite bloggers right now, her Korean inspired recipes are dainty but scrumptious all at the same time. A lot of recipes online and in cookbooks are generally the same thing, besides a few changes. So, her recipes really are a “breath of fresh air” in the kitchen. For me it reminds me of my time in Korea with my Bestie Simon from Canada. Oh how I miss your craziness Simon…

On another cold night and a long workout, my husband and I made this recipe for each other. Actually I did the first part but then started to feel a bit nauseous (thanks to my hard workout) half way through so the husband finished it off for me. Thanks hubby! The Saucy Spicy-Sweet Tofu was just as the name quotes, sweet and spicy. Nom nom nom We served it with a brown rice and lettuce leaves, boy, was it delicious! It was the perfect sweet and spicy that your taste-buds are tempted by but thankfully it much healthier than Chinese sweet and sour tofu from local take-out restaurants. Hooray!

Saucy Dubu Jorim (saucy, simmered tofu)

serves 2
1/2 – 2/3 block of firm tofu, cubed
1 Tbs ketchup
1 Tbs gochujang
1 Tbs rice syrup
1 tsp minced garlic
1 Tbs chopped chives (divided)
1 tsp sesame seeds (divided)
some veg oil for frying tofu, about 1/2 Tbs

Cut the tofu into 1-inch cubes and pat dry with a paper towel to absorb some of the water. In a non-stick pan, heat some veg oil (about 1/2 Tbs) over medium heat, and then fry the tofu until they are browned and slightly crispy on sides.

While the tofu is frying up, in a separate small bowl, mix the ketchup, gochujang, rice syrup, minced garlic, and half of the chopped chives and sesame seeds.

Add the sauce to the fried tofu in the pan, over low-medium heat.

Stir until everything is coated and the sauce simmers and slightly reduces.

Plate up and sprinkle the remaining chives and sesame seeds on top for garnishing.

