Tags

, ,


It’s no big surprise to any of you out there when I say we love bananas. Actually we go to a business bulk store called Sam’s Club where we have a business membership. For others I’m sure it’s unusual (but then again nothing about me is normal) that our cart is usually filled to the brim with fresh fruits and vegetables, nothing else. Our local store doesn’t take very much pride in transportation or handling of the fresh produce but usually we can find some non-damaged goods. It is a hard find though, so make sure if you are paying the money you get fresh and not overly ripe produce.

Anyways, we tend to purchase bananas in two large bunches of Cavendish Bananas at a time. We love this bright yellow starchy fruit because not only is it a potassium powerhouse but it also Vitamin B6, Vitamin C and also manganese. Just today I learned from Wikipedia that bananas are also slightly radioactive – how cool is that? Maybe by the time my husband and I are 100 we will glow at night thanks to this tasty fruit. Fun and delicious – just the way I like it!

So, maybe we aren’t glowing yet, (I’ll keep you updated) but we will still keep trying. For now I’m tending to make the most of our large collection of ripe bananas. For some reason we also end up with two brown bananas at the end of the week. Not that I’m complain, oh no, because that just means I get to make some tasty treats for the household that are healthy and tasty. Last week I made a batch of Banana Walnut Granola, recipe from Bob Viant’s Website. It was a recipe that I have been putting off for a bit of time, seeing that I’ve been a bit lazy lately. My husband requested some homemade granola though, so I had to oblige with a healthy recipe. This one thankfully didn’t have a bucket of sugar in it, which attracted me in the first place. Personally I love granola but the calorie count and also the sugar count is just way too much for me to stomach in the morning. This recipe, which came out perfect, replaces some of the binding sugar with my beloved bananas.

The original recipe. Here are my slight changes:

5 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups walnuts, roughly chopped
1/2 cup flax seeds
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup brown sugar (I used raw)
2 tablespoons coconut oil or other oil
1 cup mashed bananas, about 2 medium

1. Preheat oven to 300°F.
2. In a large bowl combine oats, walnuts, flax seeds, coconut, cinnamon, and salt.
3. Heat the coconut oil, brown sugar, and bananas in a small saucepan, stirring constantly until the sugar is dissolved. Add banana mixture to the dry ingredients. Mix thoroughly.
4. Spread on a large jelly roll pan or two small pans.
5. Bake for 60-75 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes, until deep golden brown.
6. Let cool completely then store in an airtight container.

Just for Fun:  Yes, We Have No Bananas by Louis Prima (The King of Swing)

