Tags

, , , ,


Hot Cross Buns are very important in our household during this time of year, seeing we are Christians. It is strange though, I don’t remember having them as a child. But then again, I come from a German-American family so I guess this traditionally English bread wouldn’t have been high on the baking list for this reason. Normally my family had cinnamon buns at Easter time but me as a “culture-seeker” that I am, I love making these crossed buns each year. But then again who would complain about having a sweetened homemade bun for breakfast anytime of the year? Not me!

Last year I made this Hot Cross Bun recipe from scratch, taking a lot of recipes together and making it vegan. It was wonderful and I couldn’t have been happier with the result. Then it happened, a new favorite website of mine had a recipe for another vegan recipe (similar to mine only slightly different) and I knew I had to try. Thanks to Vegan Swedes, I was able to test out this recipe. I did find that the dough was a bit stiffer than mine but other than that, I couldn’t complain. This stiff dough can be seen in the final product (which I wasn’t that happy) because it came out all lumpy. *tears* Our only suggestion, according to our taste buds, is to add only half the amount of the allspice (it was just a little too overpowering). I have made my personal flavor corrections to the original recipe below.

Would I make this recipe again? If in a pinch and I didn’t have my own recipe, I would definitely make this again. But, I think I’m a little bias to my own recipe so I would have to stick to my own. I’m sure just about any baker would do that though – we have a deep love for our own recipes… hehe I do love the Vegan Swedes and wouldn’t object to suggesting their site to anyone – they do amazing recipes and really help supply me with ideas and recipes. Yum! You can find the original recipes HERE.

1 cup Almond Milk
3/4c Vegan Butter (I used Earth Balance)
5 tbsp Dry Active Yeast
½ c White Sugar
4 c Plain White Flour (not bleached or enriched)
1/2 tsp Allspice
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Cloves
1 tsp Salt
3 tsp flaxseed, ground
1 cup raisins
(Optional: Peel of 1 cleaned Orange)

For the crosses:
4 tbs Plain Flour
4 tbs Cold Water.

Glazing:
½ cup Water
½ cup Sugar.

1. Crumble your fresh yeast in a big bowl. Melt your margarine, add the milk and heat until body temperature (98 F). Pour the liquid over the yeast and mix until lump free.
2. Add the sugar, salt and spices. Mix well and then add your egg replacer (pre-mixed according to the directions on the packet), sultanas and peel.
3. Add your flour and mix until the dough gets glossy and smooth.
4. Leave in a lightly floured bowl, dust the dough with flour and cover with a clean kitchen towel.
5. Leave to rise for 1 hour, or until the dough has doubled in size.
6. After rising, divide the dough into 20 equal sized round buns and place them on a oven tray with baking paper. (make sure you don’t knead the dough to much, to save air in the buns)
7. Cover again with the clean kitchen towel and leave to rise for another 45 minutes.
8. Pre-Heat your oven to 400 F and prepare the glaze by adding the sugar to boiling water and stirring until clear.
9. Mix the flour and water for your crosses.
10. Pipe the cross shape onto your buns right before baking them for 10-12 min (until golden).
11. When the hot cross buns comes out of the oven brush them with your sugar glaze. This will make them shiny and sticky, a must for the hot cross buns.
12. Eat them by cutting them in half and spreading with butter (toasting the hot cross buns is a grat tip).
13. Very tasty! Enjoy!

Extra:  Seriously, look at the size of this Hot Cross Bun!!!  So Cute! 

source

