Tags

, , ,


I don’t know why I have not posted this recipe and review on an earlier date, since I have mentioned these amazing cookies before on numerous occasions. I came across the chocolate addiction-appeasing website Chocolate Covered Katie a few months ago. The author, Katie, may look tiny in stature but her recipes are out of this world. The sweet tooth in my life, aka the darling husband, has fallen in love with her recipes. He loves her 1 minute chocolate cake – but then who wouldn’t fall in love with a microwavable homemade chocolate cake at work. If that weren’t enough for a place on our trophy shelf, she also has Peanut-Butter Frozen Hot Chocolate, Cheezecake Mousse, and so much more. My personal favorite recipe is the Flourless Chocolate Chip Cookies. There’s no medical need for us to be gluten-free but we do try to reduce it in our diet.

Each time we make this recipe, we get a surprise. Since we grind our own oats into a “flour” powder, the cookies come out different each time. If you don’t grind the mixture finely, the cookies come out flat and crispy like a lace cookie. If it’s ground well into a powder, the cookies will be as plump as flour-based recipes. Either way, these are amazing cookies! I have made it a hundred times now and can’t get enough. If you can get 12 cookies out of one batch, each cookie is just around 50 calories.

You can view the original recipe HERE.

Here’s how I make the recipe:
3/4 c rolled oats (if you are gluten-free, double check the label before buying)
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
2 tbsp brown sugar (don’t sub!)
1 tbsp plus 2 tsp white sugar
2 tbsp semi-sweet vegan chocolate chips (or vegan dark chocolate chips)
1 tbsp oil
2-4 tbsp nondairy milk (I use either sugar-free coconut milk or almond milk)
¼ c rolled oats (Add after you have ground & 2 tbsp sprinkles (both optional)

Blend first 5 ingredients together in a food processor. Mix with other ingredients, form into cookie shapes, and place on a greased cookie sheet. Cook 6 minutes at 375 F. Note: I found if you make this in a toaster oven, these cookies bake in about 10 minutes.  Additionally, I like to add sprinkles to my cookies to make them more festive – think green sprinkles for St. Patty’s Day!

