Tags

, ,


Even though I would like to say we purchase all of our produce from natural, locally responsible grocery stores, we do not. The fact is we purchase a lot of special ingredients such as nutritional yeast, vegan cheddar cheese (casein-free) and so on from local health food stores. In Ohio, does it really matter though? It’s not like the fresh vegetables are from any local farm in the middle of winter. In the warm months, we purchase from only local farmers. So, we purchase a lot of “fresh” ingredients from large commercial stores in the winter, in bulk, to save money. That’s exactly how we had 3 lbs of organic spinach sitting around waiting to be used- which became my inspiration.

We’ve been having a lot of Indian and Arabic food lately so I decided I might go for a Greek-Inspired dish. I found the Classic Spinach Dish on the All Recipes website.  I made a few changes to suit my taste buds of the night. Here’s my revised recipe:

1 tbsp olive oil
2 onions, chopped
3 c fresh spinach leaves
1 can sliced stewed tomatoes (or diced)
3 cups water
4 clove garlic, sliced
1 tbsp tomato paste
1 tsp vegetable bouillon
1/2 c uncooked millet
¼ c amaranth

1. Heat olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in onions and garlic, and cook until tender. Mix in spinach. Stir in tomatoes. Allow vegetables to simmer about 5 minutes

2. Pour 2 cups water into saucepan, and bring to a boil. Mix in garlic, tomato paste, bouillon paste, salt and pepper (to taste). Reduce heat, and cook at a low boil about 15 minutes, until water is reduced by half.

3. Stir millet and amaranth and remaining water into the spinach mixture. Return to boil, reduce heat, and simmer covered 10 minutes, or until grains are tender and fluffy.

Photo Note:  This was my leftovers lunch.  I had a good serving with two homemade baked falafels.  I will post baked falafel recipe later.

