Tags

, , , , , ,

Addicted to the Vegan Cookies Invade the Cookie Jar Cookbook right now, I had planned on making the recipe for Chocolate Coconut Macaroons. But, unfortunately it is extremely hard to find Mori-nu tofu in our area. Thankfully I found this new version of this recipe at the Chocolate Covered Katie website.  I’m so thrilled to have found it and couldn’t have been happier with my selection to make this recipe.

Katie, the author of the blog, drew me in with the mention of a “four minute” cookie. Hello, four minutes! Four minutes was hard to pass up and it didn’t take any ingredients that I did not have readily in our kitchen. Thanks Katie, you are a life-saver. Sounds dramatic on my behalf but I’ve got a mission to make everything that someone loves in our family but veganized. I want to make a point that it’s not hard to make a vegan version and make it just as good or even better.

This recipe was just as easy as Katie stated, the girl doesn’t lie. LOL It turned out to be so easy and didn’t put any stress on my already busy holiday schedule. Actually it saved me time and energy, hooray! My husband had his first bite and he asked if I could make a second batch to assure that I had enough for everyone after he was finished with them. To think, I had made this recipe for my mother, since she loves them. The coconut milk really adds a creamy, sweet flavor that fills your mouth with joy and happiness.

Easiest-Ever Coconut Macaroons
Makes About A Dozen; this is what I used

1 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut
1 tbsp flour
½ c plus 2 tbsp coconut milk
3 tbsp maple syrup
1 packet brown sugar in the raw
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
Sprinkle of salt

½ c dark vegan chocolate
½ tsp vegan butter (I used earth balance)

Combine all ingredients in a glass bowl and microwave 3 minutes. Scoop into balls on a cookie tray (I used two spoons.) Cook at 360 F for 14-16 minutes. Let cool before dipping in chocolate.

Microwave the chocolate in a glass bowl for about 1 minute, until melted and smooth. Dip the coconut macaroons in the chocolate and place on some parchment paper until it cools completely. Sounds hard but it is easy. Added plus is if you are the “chocolate dipper”, you get to lick the chocolate covered bowl. He-he

Thank you Katie for another fantastic recipe! So delicious!

