Tags

, , , ,


If you keep up with this site (thanks to those who do), you know that I really love the recipes that Vegan Dad puts on his family table and blog. He has some great ideas and really pushes the envelope for his family and adoring fans (like me). Now normally I have to admit, my mother likes to purchase pull apart white flour rolls from the store. Gasp, have you seen what’s in those things?! No thank you! I was going to make some other recipes that I have recreated along the way but I wanted to use up some of the pumpkin puree that is taking up almost a full shelf in our fridge. This recipe was perfect!

Again, I changed up some of the ingredients because I was too lazy to purchase more ingredients to make these rolls. Literally I was making these about one-hour before we left for Michigan. Once I get something stuck in my head that I want to make, I’m going to make it no matter what! So I substituted the various types of flour for whole wheat white flour (non-enriched and stone ground) and used almond milk instead of soy milk. Seeing that I substituted these ingredients I was worried the texture would not come out soft, like many people prefer after eating white enriched rolls for years. Thankfully they turned out perfectly! Vegan Dad really did it again, this is a perfect recipe.

Here’s the recipe straight from Vegan Dad’s Site. I urge you to visit his site and see everything that he has going on. Warning though, you’ll love everything you see and want to make it all.

Makes about 28 rolls
- 1 1/2 cups warm soy milk
- 1 tbsp instant yeast
- 1 cup pumpkin puree (canned is fine, but fresh is better)
- 3 cups all purpose flour (or whole wheat pastry)
- 3 cups bread flour
- 2 tsp salt
- 5 tbsp sugar
- 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp oil
- additional oil for brushing

1. Sprinkle yeast over the soy milk and whisk to dissolve. Add puree, flours, salt, sugar, and oil and bring into a soft dough, adjusting flour or liquid as needed. Knead for 5 mins, until smooth.
2. Place dough in a greased bowl, cover, and let rise for 1 hour, or until doubled in size.
3. Line two 9 inch round pans with parchment paper. Slice off 2 oz pieces of dough and work into a ball. Place in the prepared pan just touching one another. When pans are filled, brush buns with some oil, cover, and let rise for 30-40 mins, until almost doubled.
4. Preheat oven to 400 then bake for 15-18 mins, or until golden brown. Remove from pan to cool on a wire rack. Serve warm, letting your dinner guests pull off rolls as needed.

You can very easily freeze a pan of these when they are cooled, then thaw/warm them when you need them.

