Tags

, , ,


Growing up in a German American family, I always had vinegar breath. It’s no wonder I didn’t have a serious boyfriend until I dated my now husband. Haha Each summer my family would get together to make pickled items such as this one, sweet pepper relish. Not all of us would fit into the house at once so we would go a couple at a time to assist my grandmother and learn about canning fruits and vegetables for the winter months. Then at Christmas, we would all cram into my grandparents tiny farm house (or at least it felt like it) and munched on Dilly Beans, Sweet Pepper Relish, dilled pickles and etc. Yum! This year I decided to make some myself after seeing bright greenish-yellow banana peppers, yum! Unfortunately I didn’t have a family recipe but I think all of them are pretty much the same – this one worked out great! The original recipe was from Food.com.

1 1/4 cups banana peppers, finely chopped
1/4 green bell pepper, finely chopped
1/4 red bell pepper, finely chopped
5/8-7/8 jalapeno peppers, finely chopped
1/3 tablespoon salt
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon mustard seeds
1/3 whole jalapeno peppers

1. Combine chopped peppers and salt in a large bowl. Let stand two hours. Drain.
2. Combine sugar, vinegar, and mustard seed in a large saucepot. Cut two slits in the two additional jalapeno peppers and add to vinegar mixture. Bring to boil.
3. Reduce heat and add vegetables, simmering 10 minutes.
4. Remove whole jalapeno peppers. Pack hot relish into clean jars, leaving ¼-inich head space. Adjust two-piece caps.
5. Process 10 minutes in a boiling-water canner.

Original Recipe

Note: Let’s face it, relish is delicious but it isn’t anything really to look at.  So, I added a morning photo for your viewing pleasure.  Please do not use my photo for any reason without written permission from me, thanks.

