Tags

, , , ,


Warning, another pumpkin recipe – are you jumping for joy right now? It’s still pumpkin season which I’m so delighted about still. Rather an addiction maybe, to tell you the sad truth I see our pumpkins sitting outside waiting to get carved still and I’m thinking “mmmm, what can I turn that pumpkin into instead?” Is that strange? Haha Seems like such a waste to just take a pumpkin, carve it and then toss out. No, not in our household thank you very much. Ours are going to become something sweeter than a mere Halloween decoration – hooray! It’s like a Bogo sale, one pumpkin becomes a decoration and you also get some delicious pumpkin purée in the meantime.

In celebration of having some homemade pumpkin puree in our household, I decided that I was going to try something out of the ordinary. I remembered seeing a recipe a few years ago that involved chorizo and pumpkin – hello, who wouldn’t love that?! Yum! So, I looked all over to find a recipe since I really had no idea how to go along making it (okay, so maybe I could have figured it out but was feeling a bit lazy) and came across this recipe at Savory Sweet Life. It wasn’t a vegan recipe but I knew how to correct that issue and make it vegan animal friendly.

Vegan Version:
Choriza Arugula Pumplin Cream Sauce
1 recipe Vegan TVP-rizo made extra spicy (or soyrizo if you can find it.)
1 cup pumpkin puree
3/4 cup Soymilk or non-dairy creamer if you have it
1 c swiss chard, chopped (or other green leafy vegetable)
1 lb package of dry pasta, cooked al dente
Salt and Pepper, to taste

1. Cook pasta according to directions on package, or even make your own pumpkin pasta.
2. In a frying pan mix together the TVP-rizo, puree, nondairy milk/creamer and pasta until warmed through.
3. Turn off the stove. Add the swiss chard and put on lid. Leave for 5 minutes just as is…
4. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste and serve. Enjoy!

*Note: TVP-rizo is from the The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite by Celine Steen and Joni Marie Newman. If you don’t have this in your library, I more than highly recommend it!

Note 2:  Sorry about the photo, the pasta was so hot it was steaming and makes the photo appear grainy.

