Tags

, , , , , ,


It is a fact that I am not a vampire. How do I know this for certain? I eat tons of garlic and have no side-effects besides my good health. It is garlic that is supposed to keep vampires away, right? Or was it werewolves? Haha You can probably tell I’m not that much into science fiction… Whatever way the myth leans, I’m good and clear because I cram as much garlic into my diet as humanly possible. I do this and am still happily married which is a hard task but thankfully I seem to have managed it.

Enough of my endless babble – on to the information of the recipe… This is a recipe that I tried out a while back but am just getting to reviewing it. I found it on CD Kitchen thanks to Miraval Resort and Spa in Catalina, Arizona. I’ve never been to this resort and spa but was interested in this recipe because it does in fact contain 2 tbsp freshly minced garlic and fresh herbs. I actually used the herbs that we grew in our container garden this year so I had the trade a few of the herbs but really I was happy with the outcome. It was a light and fluffy white bread with a hint of herbs and garlic. It’s not overpowering. By this I mean you can serve it on date night and still not worry about your breath. In my opinion it goes really well with a pasta dish, plain without any butter or anything. It also makes your house smell like an Italian house, even if you aren’t Italian. But hey, Mario Batali always says something along the lines of “there are two types of people, ones that are Italian and the other ones that want to be Italian”. I’m on the latter half of that identification.

Here’s the recipe according to how I made it:

2 ½ c warm water
1 tbsp honey, agave or other sugar
1 tbsp salt
2 tbsp yeast
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp chopped, fresh rosemary
2 tbsp chopped, fresh basil
2 tbsp minced garlic
7 c whole grain wheat flour

1. Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
2. Mix the wet ingredients in a small bow.
3. Add the two together and mix well.
4. Knead until a dough forms. Rest in a warm place for about 2 hours until it has risen about double in size.
5. Tear the dough into five different pieces and roll into separate balls.
6. Place into a normal bread pan in a row.
7. Optional Step: Cover again with a warm towel and let it rise for another hour or until double in size. This step isn’t necessary but it does in my opinion make the bread light and fluffy. But then again I work from home so I have plenty of time to rise dough, if you don’t have the spare time go ahead and bake it after you place the rolls into the pan.
8. Place in a 375F oven for about 30-40 minutes. Let it get lightly brown on top. Your nose will probably tell you when it is finished.
9. Let the bread cool before taking out of the pan to assure the rolls do not separate before serving.

Note: I learned this trick from a Japanese baking website called cookpad.com a few years ago. I find that it is very useful when you want to assure that each person at your dining table gets a piece of bread. It fights against bread hogs, muwahhaaa… (That was my evil laugh… it’s as frightening in person as much as when you read it unfortunately. hehe) You can also place the bread dough in a pan as one piece for a normal looking bread loaf too if you don’t have bread hogs.

