Tags

, , , , , , ,

Reading Runners’ World Magazine I am constantly hoping for a healthy vegan recipe that I can make for my family.  Normally the meals are a basic meat with some sides of vegetables.  In our household though, we prefer to have a few large portions of vegetables with a smaller portion of vegan protein.  Protein should never be the main focus of any meal; each and every meal should be a healthy mix of everything.  Okay, off my soapbox and onto the normal field.  November 2011 edition had a tempting recipe by Mark Bittman, nothing that special from other fall muffin recipes but something hit me.  I decided that I was going to try to recreate all the recipes that look tempting into a vegan option.  The “contributing food writers” put in a lot of effort to make up an article and recipe; my family might as well appreciate them all and take full advantage of them.

Mark Bittman, a marathoner, wrote a recipe for Sweet Potato Muffins.  Already in my large recipe box is a few sweet potato muffin recipes so I decided to take the pumpkin puree sitting in my fridge and replace it for the sweet potatoes.  Additionally I switched up some of the flours to assure each muffin had tons of fiber.  Yum, right?

Veganized version:
2 c whole-wheat flour
½ c wheat germ
¾ c brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¼ c vegan butter (I used Earth Balance Vegan Butter)
1 ½ tbsp ground flaxseed
1 c unsweetened organic light coconut milk

 

1.  Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. 
2.  Make a hole in the center of the dry mixture and add all the wet ingredients.
3.  Mix it all together into a good batter.
4.  Place the batter into 12 muffin liners.
5.  Place in a 375F oven for 20-25 minutes. 

Next up I am going to try these muffins with the pumpkin coconut variation option that is placed in the magazine.

