Tags

, , , , , , ,


My darling man is into a big chickpea mood lately, so I have to appease him. Not that I totally mind though because I love chickpeas and trying out new recipes. Last week I made this Thai chickpea recipe for the darling man for dinner, along with some side dishes and brown rice. He absolutely loved it and I couldn’t have been happier. It’s always nice to make something for someone that truly enjoys and appreciates it. It’s much easier for me to give presents than to receive them.

These Thai chickpeas looked very promising so I was excited to try them out. I came across the recipe at the Vegan Peace website. It is originally from the cookbook, Thai Vegetarian Cooking by Vatcharin Bhumichitr. After soaking the chickpeas overnight, I came across this recipe and found that the ingredients were normal staples in our kitchen. Thank goodness! I love recipes that require nothing more than what is in the cupboards and refrigerator.

The recipe was super easy to toss together and made for a delightful smell in our kitchen. I’m wondering if our neighbors around us get tired of the smells or hear their stomachs growling all the time while living next to us. Lol The darling man loved the Thai chickpeas and devoured a good portion of them. For me, I found that the recipe was less than tasty. It was fine just as is but after my first bite I started to think of ingredients to add to it to make it a great recipe. The flavors were there but nothing that stood out or make it a true Thai experience.

This is a copy of the original recipe from the link above. I love the Vegan Peace website and urge you to check it out, you won’t be sorry. It has a little bit of every vegan cookbook you could think of up to the current year.

1 1/2 cups dried chickpeas, picked over and rinsed, soaked overnight in ample water to cover or speed-soaked (page 185)
3 cups coconut milk (page 19)
1 teaspoon minced garlic
3/4 pound sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks
1 cup coarsely chopped fresh or canned (drained) plum tomatoes
1 tablespoon mild curry powder
1/4 cup minced fresh coriander
1/2 cup minced fresh basil
1 to 2 tablespoons tamari soy sauce

Drain and rinse the chickpeas. In the cooker, combine the chickpeas, coconut milk, garlic, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, curry powder, and coriander.

Lock the lid in place. Over high heat, bring to high pressure. Lower the heat just enough to maintain high pressure and cook for 18 minutes. Allow the pressure to come down naturally or use a quick-release method. Remove the lid, tilting it away from you to allow any excess steam to escape. If the chickpeas are not tender, either return to high pressure for a few more minutes or replace (but do not lock) the lid and simmer until the chickpeas are done.

Add the basil and soy sauce to taste as you break up the sweet potatoes and stir to create a thick sauce.

