Tags

, , , , , , ,


The Cancer Project has an informative website for patients and those that have questions and need answers about this life-threatening disease. It’s not only nice to know the website is available if needed but also contains some wonderful recipes that us foodies can enjoy. I already have a few recipes from the website posted that I absolutely love. This is one that I couldn’t wait to share with everyone right away. Years ago when I ate meat, my husband and I delighted in having a healthy portion of BBQ beans. Hence, this recipe really fit the bill not only for our summer cravings but also for our vegan lifestyle. It’s simple to toss together and easy to keep around the house waiting for the BBQ to begin.

I have changed the recipe up a tiny bit to meet my needs but basically it is the same. To view the original recipe go here.

Makes 8 1-cup servings

1 16-ounce can vegetarian baked beans
1 15-ounce can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup crushed tomatoes
1 cup finely chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
1 tablespoon molasses
2 teaspoons stone-ground mustard
1 teaspoon chili powder

Combine all ingredients in a small Crock-pot. Simmer on low for around 3 hours.

