Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Thanks to my Australian family & friends, I have learned so much about a part of the world I would never have been taught without them.  Through this friendship, I have learned about Dinkum food (Real Aussie Food), along with a ton of research.  Australians do not eat much vegan food so I have to veganize most of it but that’s part of the fun of it.  I love the challenge of veganizing everything!  Sometimes you find another vegan that has already done some of the work for you.  When I found BrisVegan, I about flipped out in excitement!  This recipe is inspired by her recipe. After our recent trip to Australia, I am thrilled to say these do in fact taste like the originals.  I hope you all can try this at your house, you are going to love it!

Let’s make it together!

Here’s the American “translation”:
1 (28oz) can of baked beans, with 1/2 of liquid
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1 cup wheat bran
1/4 cup reduce sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon vegan Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon each paprika, salt and pepper
1 pkg phyllo dough – it’s healthier (or if you can find vegan puff pastry)
 
1. Heat oven to 400F.
2. Process everything but the dough in the food processor until the mixture is almost smooth.
3. Cut each sheet of dough into 4 squares.
4. Put 1/16th of the bean mixture in a line in the middle of each square of pastry.
5. Roll each sausage roll into a tube shape and seal edges of pastry, using a little water if necessary.
6. Bake until golden and pastry is puffed (20-25 minutes).
 
Eat these pastries right away or you can freeze them for a fast dinner.
