Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Many of times I have posted Vegan Naan in my recipe but I just noticed that I have not posted a recipe, not even once!  So, I wanted to share with you all my recipe that I use occasionally to make wonderful new entrees and savory, spicy Indian dishes.  I actually got my recipe from Peta.org but unfortunately I have noticed that the site doesn’t work all the time, at least for recipes.  So, I wanted to make sure that I posted this recipe, along with my changes to it so that you could make your own too.  It’s easy to mix together in the morning and then in the afternoon cook it.  We tend to put ours on the BBQ since well I live with a Master BBQ’er but does go well on the stove also in the extreme cold months that the grill won’t start outside in two feet of snow.  It is very versatile.  This recipe makes around 6-10 naan.

1 1/2 tsp active dry yeast 
1/2 c warm water
1 Tbsp sugar
3 Tbsp almond milk
1 tsp salt
2 c  unbleached white flour, not enriched
2 Tbsp olive oil

•In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast in warm water. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy.

•Stir in the sugar, soy milk, salt, and enough flour to make a soft dough, between 1 3/4 to 2 cups.

•Knead for 6 to 8 minutes on a lightly floured surface or until smooth. Place in a well-oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise. Let it rise 1 hour, until the dough has doubled in volume.

•Punch down the dough then roll into golf ball-size pieces and place on a baking sheet. Cover with a towel and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

•Preheat a pan to high heat and lightly oil. Roll each ball of dough into a thin circle then add to pan one at a time. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, or until bubbles begin to brown and brush the top side with additional oil. Flip the bread and cook for 2 to 3 minutes on the other side. Continue until all the bread is cooked.

Note:  These freeze very well so make extra one night and place in the freezer for an instant dinner another night.

