Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As we awake this morning the sky was dropping little raindrops all around us, so my mind instead of drifting back to sleep, it instantly drifted to the frozen blueberries that we hide away in our freezer.  Blueberry coffee cake popped into my head and I knew there was no turning back to the sheets for me, rather down to the kitchen I ran.  I came up with this new recipe to make a vegan version of Blueberry Coffee Cake.  I used frozen blueberries we had picked from Michigan last weekend but I’m sure fresh would work just fine too.  It did take a lot longer than I had anticipated but man does our house smell wonderful.  The husband stated this was one of the best recipes I had created to-date!  Each bite just melts in your mouth.  I hope you all enjoy it too!

Coffee Cake

1 cup of sugar
4 tbsp vegan butter, room temperature
2 tsp of baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon, ground
¼c applesauce
1 tbsp flaxseed, ground
2 tsp vanilla extract
1c unbleached white flour
1c whole wheat flour
½c coconut milk, or other nondairy milk
1 ½c blueberries, fresh or frozen is okay

Crumble

5 Tbsp vegan butter
3/4c unbleached white flour
1c brown sugar
2 tsp of cinnamon, ground

1.  Blend the vegan butter and sugar together in a large bowl until smooth.

2.  Add the baking powder, salt, cinnamon, applesauce, flaxseed and vanilla until creamy and well mixed.

3.  Mix in the flours until well combined.  It will be thick but that’s the way you want it.

4.  Add the coconut milk until the mixture becomes a thick creamy concoction.  It will look like a lovely thick vegan milkshake.

5.  Fold the blueberries in carefully.  Let the mixture sit for about 5 minutes while you are making the crumble for the top.

6.  Toss the crumble ingredients together in a medium sized bowl.  (Or if you get crazy like my husband, go for a large bowl to save some cleanup time.)

7.   Use a fork and mix the crumble together.  You can stab at it to make it all nice and crumbly.

8.  Pour the batter into a 8×8 well greased pan.  Top with the crumble.

9.  Bake at 350F for about 50-60 minutes.  After about 40 minutes you may need to place a little aluminum foil on top to assure that the crumble doesn’t brown too much.  Then the last five minutes remove the foil to reduce the moisture on top.

10.  Very important:  Yes, I learned my lesson.  Even though your house smells like elephant ears at the county fairgrounds, DO NOT (seriously, don’t do it) remove the coffee cake from the pan for at least 5 minutes.  You are going to need all your will power to do so but seriously, the bottom of the cake will come off and it will break apart if you don’t wait.  It will get firm on the outside and extremely moist on the inside if you can resist the urge to eat it right away.  If you do fall to the temptation, go ahead and take the parts that fall off or stick to the bottom and place it in the freezer – it is perfect for soy cream topping or oatmeal topping.

 If you try this recipe, please let me know what you think or even send me a  photo! I would absolutely love that! 

