Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Vegan Beach Picnic

This week has been a hectic one for me, from migraines to sandy beach picnics; it has been a very atypical time.  Thankfully it is Friday (hooray!) and time for another weekend getaway.  Okay, so maybe not technically a getaway but at least it will be filled with family fun time and relaxation next to the pool.

Wednesday was our shopping day since we were to be off for the weekend and Thursday was going to be a busy day.  I planned a special outing for my husband though, just to spice things up a little.  I packed a full bento in our new To-Go Ware Tiffin alongside our to-Go Ware cutlery sets.  It doesn’t really hold as much as a Japanese bento box but it still works out.  I have to get used to the circular shape instead of square.  Then we were off to the store for some needed weekend supplies for traveling.  I took our Tiffin box in a cooler bag along with some water a large mixed salad and two apples.  After grocery shopping, I managed to sneak my husband to the beach where we had a beach dinner picnic.  It was rather perfect (even amongst all the people sneaking in some sunshine and water).  We made it home and took the furry one on a nice long walk which she much appreciated.

Thursday…  I was really proud of myself, amongst packing and getting the house cleaned, I was able to push my behind to the gym again.  The hard working man had to work a little late do to an awards ceremony (which families aren’t allowed to join) so I had some unusual free time.  Hence, I decided what else is there to do but to spend two hours in the gym enjoying myself.  Yes, you read that correctly, I love to work out at the gym.  That is, when I can get myself to get there…  The husband doesn’t like the gym as much since he loves the great outdoors – he’s a thirty minute gym guy which doesn’t help me burn any calories.  So, I walked to the gym for my long workout.

Since it was in the daytime, it was not busy at all – another hooray!  I jumped on the treadmill and preset the time for one hour.  I didn’t want to match any superhero times but did want to make sure my booty was moving for one hour on the treadmill.  I went for a nice casual run for 4.17 miles in one hour.  That time included a ten minute cool-down.  Then I was off the treadmill all nice and sweaty to start up some weight lifting for thirty minutes.  Oh, by the way, I read the other day that you lose 4 cups of sweat per hour of working out!  Gross!  Thirty minutes of miscellaneous weight lifting and then thirty minutes of stationary biking for me.  By that time, it was two hours and I was ready to walk home for the day.

It felt great to get out there and workout for two hours.  Normally I don’t have that much time to be working out in the daytime but it just worked out fine this one occasion.  It was much needed too.  After a nice long workout, it is amazing how great one feels!  It is almost similar to adrenalin highs.  If you don’t know what I mean, you should try it sometime.

Then I was off again running to get things completed before my husband got home.  I managed to even give the pooch a nice citrus bath, which she actually enjoyed.  In addition, I packed all the supplies for the weekend with the additional snack bento.  It’s always a good idea to take healthy food (even if you aren’t vegan) along for the ride since roadside rest areas really have nothing that resembles food for a healthy body.  Plus, it halts all those stops that many take just to get from point a to point b.

Then we were off to a weekend full of family meetings and a wedding.  Plus, I have to admit we are looking forward to trying out a few vegan restaurants along the way.

