Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie. (Jim Davis) Vegetables are fine but what about fruit? That’s why we made vegan blueberry pie!

Now, personally I do not believe in using the term, “diet” as it is used in modern society. “Diet” in the term it was formulated around is “all food that one consumes”. But seeing that Davis placed it in his phrase, I will refer to the word “diet” as it was intended. Please don’t get me wrong, I never would promote a “diet”. Healthy eating and exercise is the key to a healthy body.

My husband and I are both working on our health internally and externally but we still find the time to make healthy homemade sweets to enjoy. Sweet desserts can be well over 1000 calories for a tiny piece so it’s important to keep the recipe simple and use the freshest ingredients. Some frozen blueberries that we picked at the farm last fall has been sitting in our freezer just waiting to become something sweet. This weekend was the time to shine in blueberry pie!

It’s funny that I was set out to make blueberry pie this weekend, I was adamant actually. It was funny since I do not like warm fruit, especially not in pies. Lol My husband loves warm homemade pie though so it’s all worth it. I used a recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens, “New Cook Book: Limited Edition” to formulate our own recipe only vegan. It worked out fantastically!

Crust Recipe Ingredients:
2 ¼ c unbleached whole grain white flour
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp cinnamon
2/3 c vegan butter
10 tbsp filtered water

Blueberry Filling Ingredients:
5 c frozen blueberries
¾ light brown organic sugar
3 tbsp unbleached whole grain white flour
1 tsp cinnamon, ground
Zest from one entire medium orange, about 2 tbsp

Unfortunately I can not give you the entire original recipe since it is from a copyrighted Better Homes and Gardens, “New Cook Book: Limited Edition” (the pink one) contains a lot of recipes that can be turned into something vegan. It has something wonderful for everyone, leaving everyone happy and healthy.

Thanks for the lovely weekend my darling husband! It was great to make blueberry pie together! ♥♥

