Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is another recipe that has been sitting in my “to-do recipe list” on my laptop. I’m constantly holding on to recipes until I get tired of the list and start making them. This last weekend I went ahead and made homemade vegan sausage patties from Vegetarians in Paradise and recreated it to my preferences. I have seen some other people that have chosen to recreate this recipe with changes too on many other websites.

I was instantly drawn to this recipe at first because it had ½ cup of tvp. I love using TVP for mock meat products such one of my husband’s favorite – Vegan Sloppy Joes. Since the mornings lately have been a little hectic, starting at 5:45AM, I’m usually not in the mood to try this recipe so early. So, I chose to make these patties ahead of time the night before so that I would have them ready for the next morning. Anything for my husband I’ll do. But, if I can spoil my husband and do it without a little stress, I’m all into it.

The afternoon before, I made these mock sausage patties. They were so easy to mix together and did not take that long. I then threw these little guys in the fridge and threw them back into the frying pan again the next morning to heat up. I also made vegan omelets without anything inside to make the mock eggs appear like a mock fried egg. I add the reheated vegan sausage patties and mock eggs on a homemade English muffin with vegan cheddar cheese for mock breakfast sandwiches. Yum!!! They worked out perfect!

My husband works in a facility that is full of carnivores that cringe at the appearance of veggies let alone vegan food. These breakfast sandwiches smelled so delicious that everyone was making positive comments at the smell and appearance. That’s a big thing!

Homemade Vegan Sausage Patties
½ c tvp
½ c boiling water
½ c whole wheat flour
¼ c wheat germ
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp garlic, minced
½ tsp fresh sage, rubbed
¼ tsp red pepper flakes
½ tsp fennel seeds ground finely
¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
¼ tsp salt
1/8 tsp paprika
1 tbsp ground flax seeds
¼ c water
1 tsp liquid smoke
1 tbsp soy sauce
¼ tsp black strap molasses

Basically you just mix it all together and fry it up like sausage patties. See the link above for the full original recipe and also the full instructions. To serve, place these patties alongside any vegan scrambled eggs, vegan waffles, and/or in a vegan breakfast sandwich.

Amount per Serving
Calories 162.4
Total Fat 2.6 g
Cholesterol 0.0 mg
Sodium 582.2 mg
Carbs 25.2 g
Dietary Fiber 7.1 g Sugar 2.7 g
Protein 11.9 g

